Wasps Women take on Worcester for First Game of 2022

Date: 14 Jan 2022


After the postponement of last weekend's fixture against Loughborough Lightning, Wasps Women will play their first game of 2022 on the road at Sixways Stadium taking on Worcester Warriors.

In their last match against the Warriors, Wasps came out on top clinching a four point win after a nail biting battle. Now on foreign turf, Wasps will be looking for a repeat to set the ball rolling in the new year and second half of the season. 

Wasps Women's Director of Rugby Giselle Mather has named her team which includes the return of Abby Dow, Bryony Cleall, Rowena Burnfield and Jess Cooksey. There are also debut appearances for Rosie Wright and Alex Wilkinson. 

Mica Evans, Heather Kerr and Maud Muir will form the front row with the Irish combination of Ciara Cooney and Sam Monaghan as your second row. Claire Molloy will lead as captain in the number seven jersey with Kay Searcy on her opposite side and Burnfield returning to the field at number eight. 

Sammy Wong will start at scrum half with Meg Jones outside of her at ten. Cooksey returns to the field to join Ellie Boatman on the wing. Gemma Rowland and Abi Burton will run in the centres with debutant, Wright, completing the starting line up as full back. 

Cleall returns to the field as front row replacement alongside Kanyinsola Adefemiwa-Afilaka with Helene Caux and Christiana Balogun acting as forward replacements.

Wilkinson joins the squad as replacement scrum half with Dow and Flo Williams as the other backs replacements. 

Tickets for this weekend's fixture are available through Worcester Warriors and the match action can be followed on our Twitter Channels. 

Wasps Women Team Line Up

15 Rosie Wright

14 Ellie Boatman (Sponsored by Budgy Smuggler UK)

13 Gemma Rowland

12 Abi Burton

11 Jess Cooksey (Sponsored by RSK and Gin Jar)

10 Meg Jones

9 Sammy Wong

1 Mica Evans

2 Heather Kerr (Sponsored by Vibe Teaching)

3 Maud Muir (Sponsored by Rugby Tots Thames and Bicester and Gosford All Blacks)

4 Ciara Cooney

5 Sam Monaghan (Sponsored by Vibe Teaching)

6 Kay Searcy

7 Claire Molloy (c)

8 Rowena Burnfield 


16 Kanyinsola Adefemiwa Afilaka 

17 Bryony Cleall

18 Helene Caux

19 Christiana Balogun

20 Alex Wilkinson

21 Flo Williams

22 Abby Dow