Wasps team to play Harlequins at The Stoop

Wasps team to play Harlequins at The Stoop

Wasps team to play Harlequins at The Stoop

Date: 27 Apr 2017

Director of Rugby Dai Young has named his side to travel to The Twickenham Stoop on Friday night to face Harlequins, kick off 7.45pm.

Josh Bassett is set to make his 50th appearance for the club, as he is named to start on the wing, while Guy Thompson starts at number eight in his 50th Aviva Premiership game.

There are just two changes to the starting line-up that took to the field two weeks ago against Bristol, as Wasps prepare to play the penultimate game of the regular Aviva Premiership season.

There is one change to the backline, where Dan Robson is named to start at scrum half, with Joe Simpson moving to the bench. Thomas Young returns at openside, with Guy Thompson switching to number eight.

On the bench, Simon McIntyre returns to fitness to take a spot among the replacements, primed for his first involvement since the European Quarter Final.

Ahead of the regular season’s penultimate fixture, Dai Young said: “Trips to the Stoop have always been close battles and I’m sure this Friday night will be no different. Quins have only lost two Aviva Premiership games there this season, one of those being the last time out against Exeter. They will be hurting from that loss and want to put that right on Friday at a sold-out Stoop.

“They are just one point off a European Champions Cup spot for next season, so they have everything to play for, but so do we. 

“The motivation for us is clear, a win would guarantee a home semi final, but going into the game we have been focused on our performance and making sure we put together an 80-minute display on Friday.

“It may be boring, but we have to take a step-by-step approach, and the next step is a very tough away trip to The Stoop. They have everything to play for and so do we, so it’s sure to be a fascinating encounter.” 

Wasps team to play Harlequins, Friday 28 April, kick off 7.45pm

15. Willie Le Roux
14. Christian Wade
13. Elliot Daly
12. Kurtley Beale
11. Josh Bassett
10. Jimmy Gopperth
9. Dan Robson
1. Matt Mullan
2. Tommy Taylor
3. Phil Swainston
4. Joe Launchbury (c)
5. Matt Symons
6. James Haskell
7. Thomas Young
8. Guy Thompson

16. Tom Cruse
17. Simon McIntyre
18. Jake Cooper-Woolley
19. Kearnan Myall
20. Nathan Hughes
21. Joe Simpson
22. Danny Cipriani
23. Alapati Leiua