Wasps team to play Exeter Chiefs in the Aviva Premiership Final

Date: 26 May 2017

Wasps team to play Exeter Chiefs in the Aviva Premiership Final

Director of Rugby Dai Young has named his Wasps’ side for the Aviva Premiership Final against Exeter Chiefs, at Twickenham Stadium this Saturday, kick off 2.30pm.

Willie Le Roux lines up at full back, with Kurtley Beale sidelined by a hamstring injury sustained in the Semi Final. Josh Bassett and Christian Wade start on the wings while Elliot Daly and Jimmy Gopperth again form Wasps’ midfield partnership, outside half-backs Danny Cipriani and Dan Robson.
Up front, captain Joe Launchbury and Matt Symons pack down in the second row, behind Matt Mullan, Tommy Taylor and Phil Swainston. James Haskell, Thomas Young and Nathan Hughes start in the back row.
Wasps will be looking to their strong bench to make a similar impact to last weekend, in Wasps’ Semi Final win over Leicester Tigers.
Ashley Johnson, Simon McIntyre and Marty Moore provide the front row reinforcements, while Kearnan Myall and Guy Thompson will also be ready to make a big contribution in the pack. Alapati Leiua, Frank Halai and Joe Simpson will all be relishing the impact they can make from the bench, with Simpson also in line for his 150th Premiership appearance on Saturday.
Ahead of Wasps’ first Premiership Final since 2008, director of rugby Dai Young said: “We are all looking forward to the occasion and the challenge ahead of us on Saturday. As you would expect in the week of the final, there has been a real sense of excitement and a high intensity in training.
“The final is new territory for this group of players, but really exciting territory and something our players and coaches can’t wait to be involved in. It’s a big day for the whole squad, who deserve to be in the final after the consistency they’ve shown to finish top of the table, and they have a fantastic opportunity ahead of them.  It is also just reward for the hard work of every member of the support staff and off-field team this season.
“We are delighted that everyone associated with the club, including our loyal Wasps supporters, old and new, get to enjoy this showpiece occasion at Twickenham.
“As much as we are going to enjoy it, we want more than that. We are not there to make up the numbers, we are there to give absolutely everything we have to try to win the trophy. It is just another 80 minutes of rugby in which we are determined to do ourselves justice and to produce a performance we can all be proud of.
“Saturday is about more than the match day 23 lucky enough to wear the shirt. It will be about the entire squad, every player who has played their part this season to get us to Twickenham. Some boys have been unlucky to get injured towards the back end of the season and our match day squad will be playing as much for them as for themselves and our fans.
“We have a lot of respect for Exeter Chiefs, who are a quality team and a quality club. We’ve had some memorable battles over the past couple of seasons and know how well drilled and coached they are, so we will have to be at our absolute best to get the win. Produce our best and I know we are a match for anyone.”
Fans are encouraged to arrive early at Twickenham, with extra security measures in place.
Wasps fans are also encouraged to bring their Wasps flags with them as there will only be a limited supply at Twickenham. 

If you don't already have one, please head to the Wasps’ Defender next to our retail trailer in the West Car Park Fan Village (ahead of the teams’ arrival at 1pm at the Lion Gate in the West Car Park) to collect your flag on the day while stocks last.
For all match day info click here
Wasps team to play Exeter Chiefs in the Aviva Premiership Final
15. Willie Le Roux 
14. Christian Wade
13. Elliot Daly
12. Jimmy Gopperth
11. Josh Bassett
10. Danny Cipriani
9. Dan Robson
1. Matt Mullan
2. Tommy Taylor 
3. Phil Swainston
4. Joe Launchbury (c)
5. Matt Symons
6. James Haskell
7. Thomas Young
8. Nathan Hughes 

16. Ashley Johnson
17. Simon McIntyre
18. Marty Moore
19. Kearnan Myall
20. Guy Thompson
21. Joe Simpson 
22. Alapati Leiua 
23. Frank Halai 

Unavailable through injury
Kurtley Beale (hamstring)
Jake Cooper-Woolley (toe)
Sam Jones (leg and ankle)
Kyle Eastmond (Achilles)
Carlo Festuccia (hand)
Alex Lundberg (ankle)
George Edgson (knee)