Wasps team to play Bath

Date: 28 Dec 2017

Marcus Watson returns to Wasps’ Aviva Premiership line-up for the first time since round six at Bath’s Recreation Ground on Friday evening (7.45pm kick off).

His selection, in the left-wing berth vacated by the injured Josh Bassett, is one of two changes director of rugby Dai Young has made to the match-day 23 which last Saturday claimed a fifth consecutive top-flight win.

The second of these sees James Haskell return to the blindside flank after being rested for the pre-Christmas clash with Gloucester.

Young has also once again rotated a number of players between replacement roles and positions in the starting line-up.

This means Dan Robson, Jake Cooper-Woolley and Kearnan Myall, all of whom made significant impact in the final 30 minutes against Gloucester, are this week named as starters against fifth-placed Bath.

Joe Simpson, Marty Moore and James Gaskell will therefore appear from the bench tomorrow evening, as will Ashley Johnson, Ben Harris and Gaby Lovobalavu.

Third-placed Wasps begin the second half of their league campaign by seeking to redress the balance with Bath, who claimed a 25-9 win at the Ricoh Arena in round five.

And after claiming all five points against Gloucester, Young said tomorrow’s match plus the visit of Saracens next weekend are now vital encounters.

“The next two games are massive for us,” he said.

“Coming into this block of three league games, we said if we could get three good results then we'll be sitting pretty in the top four which will take a bit of pressure off us.

“But If we don't, it will put a bit of pressure on us and go right to the wire, so these are important games.

“Bath did a job on us at the Ricoh, but we're better now than we were then, since we've evolved as a team.

“But you have to give them credit, as they were the better team on the day, so it's up to us to go and reverse that result.”

Wasps team to play Bath

15. Willie Le Roux
14. Christian Wade
13. Juan De Jongh
12. Kyle Eastmond
11. Marcus Watson
10. Danny Cipriani
9. Dan Robson
1.  Simon McIntyre
2.  Tom Cruse
3.  Jake Cooper-Woolley
4. Joe Launchbury ©
5.  Kearnan Myall 
6.  James Haskell
7.  Thomas Young
8.  Nizaam Carr


16. Ashley Johnson
17. Ben Harris
18. Marty Moore
19. James Gaskell
20. Guy Thompson
21. Joe Simpson
22. Rob Miller
23. Gaby Lovobalavu

Tickets are currently available for the Aviva Premiership visit of European champions Saracens on Sunday January 7, and also for the next instalment of the M69 derby with Leicester Tigers, which takes place at the Ricoh Arena in the Anglo-Welsh Cup on Sunday February 4.

For more details and to purchase tickets please visit www.wasps.co.uk/tickets or call the ticket office on 02476 786411.