Wasps team to host Toulouse on Saturday

Date: 14 Jan 2022


Lee Blackett has named his side to host Toulouse at the Coventry Building Society Arena in Heineken Champions Cup, Pool B, Round 3 on Saturday.

There are five personnel changes and one positional switch from the team that beat Leicester Tigers last Sunday.

Paolo Odogwu, Jacob Umaga, James Gaskell, Biyi Alo and Rodrigo Martinez all come into the side.

Odogwu starts at outside centre, having recovered from an ACL injury, he is in line to feature for Wasps for the first time since May 2021. Jimmy Gopperth partners him in the centres.

Umaga starts at full back, as he returns having served his two-match ban for the red card he picked up on Boxing Day. He is joined in the back three by Josh Bassett and Ali Crossdale, who is in line to make his Champions Cup debut, having switched from full-back to the wing this week.

Gaskell starts at lock this week, having made his return from injury off the bench against Tigers last week. Tim Cardall starts in the second row alongside him.

Martinez makes his Champions Cup debut, as he packs down in the front row beside Alo and Tom Cruse.

The back-row remains unchanged, Tom Willis is at number eight, the side is captained by Brad Shields at openside flanker and Alfie Barbeary is at blindside flanker.

The half-back partnership also remains untouched, with Charlie Atkinson at fly-half and Sam Wolstenholme at scrum-half.

On the bench, Zac Nearchou is in line to make his Champions Cup debut, while Pieter Scholtz and Ryan Mills are in line to make their Wasps European debuts from amongst the replacements.

They are joined by Dan Frost, Nizaam Carr, Thomas Young, Will Porter and Rob Miller as the other replacements.

Wasps team to face Toulouse at the Coventry Building Society Arena on Saturday (kick-off 1:00pm)

Wasps (First-team appearances)

15 Jacob Umaga (59)

14 Ali Crossdale (10)

13 Paolo Odogwu (23)

12 Jimmy Gopperth (140)

11 Josh Bassett (162)

10 Charlie Atkinson (19)

9 Sam Wolstenholme (26)

1 Rodrigo Martinez (1)

2 Tom Cruse (106)

3 Biyi Alo (26)

4 Tim Cardall (41)

5 James Gaskell (143)

6 Alfie Barbeary (20)

7 Brad Shields (65) (c)

8 Tom Willis (51)


16 Dan Frost (9)

17 Zac Nearchou (5)

18 Pieter Scholtz (5)

19 Nizaam Carr (66)

20 Thomas Young (150)

21 Will Porter (40)

22 Rob Miller (127)

23 Ryan Mills (6)

Unavailable (19): Malakai Fekitoa, Vaea Fifita, Ben Harris, Robin Hislop, Francois Hougaard, Zach Kibirige, Joe Launchbury, Elliot Millar-Mills, Matteo Minozzi, Gabriel Oghre, Dan Robson, Will Simonds, Sam Spink, Elliott Stooke, Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, Theo Vukasinovic, Marcus Watson, Tom West, Jack Willis.

Tickets are available for our next home games online by clicking here or by calling the Wasps Ticket Office on 02476 786 411.