Wasps team to face Northampton Saints on Saturday

Date: 5 Feb 2021


Lee Blackett has named his Wasps side to host Northampton Saints at Ricoh Arena in Gallagher Premiership Round Eight on Saturday.  

There are seven changes to the starting line-up from the Round Seven fixture against Harlequins.

Kieran Brookes comes in at tighthead prop, to make his 150th Premiership appearance and 50th Wasps appearance.

Ben Harris joins Brookes in the front row, as he starts at loosehead prop, to make his 50th Premiership Appearance for Wasps.


With Thomas Young out injured, Brad Shields is named as captain for the third time in his Wasps career and Gabriel Oghre replaces Young at openside flanker.

Will Rowlands has joined Wales’ preparations for the Six Nations and is replaced by Tim Cardall, who is fresh from signing a contract extension with the club this week.

There are also three changes in the backline, as Charlie Atkinson starts at fly-half, Rob Miller comes in at full-back and Sam Wolstenholme is at nine.

Amongst the replacements Theo Vukasinovic is in line for his first appearance of the season and Ben Vellacott returns to the matchday 23.

Paolo Odogwu, Dan Robson, Jack Willis and Tom West remain away with England for their Six Nations campaign.


Wasps team to face Northampton Saints at Ricoh Arena on Saturday in Gallagher Premiership Round Eight (kick-off 1:00 pm)

Wasps (First-team appearances)  

15 Rob Miller (115)

14 Zach Kibirige (33)

13 Malakai Fekitoa (24)

12 Jimmy Gopperth (115)

11 Matteo Minozzi (23)

10 Charlie Atkinson (7)

9 Sam Wolstenholme (15)

1 Ben Harris (68)

2 Tom Cruse (91)

3 Kieran Brookes (49)

4 Tim Cardall (25)

5 James Gaskell (129)

6 Brad Shields (37) (c)

7 Gabriel Oghre (32)

8 Tom Willis (29)



16 Tommy Taylor (78)

17 Simon McIntyre (178)

18 Jeff Toomaga-Allen (30)

19 Theo Vukasinovic (7)

20 Ben Morris (36)

21 Ben Vellacott (11)

22 Jacob Umaga (36)

23 Michael Le Bourgeois (44)