Wasps team to face London Irish on Saturday

Date: 26 Feb 2021


Lee Blackett has named his Wasps side to host London Irish at Ricoh Arena in Gallagher Premiership Round 11 on Saturday.  

There are seven changes to the starting line-up from the game against Leicester Tigers last time out.

Will Porter and Jacob Umaga return to form the half-back partnership.

There are two changes in the midfield, as Michael Le Bourgeois starts at 12 and Juan de Jongh comes in for the injured Malakai Fekitoa at outside centre.

Fresh from re-signing with the club this week, Tom Cruse starts at hooker. He is joined in the front row by Tom West and Jeff Toomaga-Allen, in the absence of Kieran Brookes.

There is also one change to the back row, where Gabriel Oghre is back to start at seven, alongside captain Brad Shields and Tom Willis.

Will Rowlands has returned from Six Nations duty with Wales, so he starts again in the second row alongside James Gaskell.

New loan signing from Ospreys, Nicky Thomas is in line to make his Wasps debut from amongst the replacements.

Paolo Odogwu and Dan Robson are still away with England for their Six Nations campaign.  

Wasps team to face London Irish at Ricoh Arena on Saturday in Gallagher Premiership Round 11 (kick-off 3:00 pm)

Wasps (First-team appearances)

15 Matteo Minozzi (26)

14 Zach Kibirige (36)

13 Juan de Jongh (64)

12 Michael Le Bourgeois (47)

11 Josh Bassett (137)

10 Jacob Umaga (39)

9 Will Porter (26)

1 Tom West (44)

2 Tom Cruse (94)

3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen (33)

4 Will Rowlands (100)

5 James Gaskell (132)

6 Brad Shields (40) (c)

7 Gabriel Oghre (33)

8 Tom Willis (32)



16 Tommy Taylor (81)

17 Ben Harris (71)

18 Nicky Thomas (0)

19 Levi Douglas (7)

20 Sione Vailanu (22)

21 Ben Vellacott (13)

22 Charlie Atkinson (10)

23 Jimmy Gopperth (118)