Wasps Team to face Leicester Tigers

Date: 14 Sep 2018

Director of rugby Dai Young hands a Wasps debut to Michael Le Bourgeois, while Lima Sopoaga is named to start for the first time, as his club play Leicester Tigers at the Ricoh Arena on Sunday.

There are five changes to the starting 15 from Saturday’s game against Exeter Chiefs.

Wasps debutant Le Bourgeois replaces the injured Gaby Lovobalavu, to join Juan De Jongh in the centres.

Sopoaga gets a first start for Wasps, moving from the bench to starting at 10, alongside half back-partner Dan Robson.

James Gaskell swaps roles with Will Rowlands to start in the second row beside captain Joe Launchbury.

Ashley Johnson replaces the injured Brad Shields at six, while Nizaam Carr returns from injury to replace Joe Atkinson, who is rested after putting in a couple of strong shifts. Nathan Hughes rounds out the back row at number eight.

The front row of Ben Harris, Tommy Taylor and Kieran Brookes and the back three of Christian Wade, Josh Bassett and Elliot Daly remain unchanged from last week.   

New signing Ben Morris could make his Wasps bow from amongst the replacements and is joined on an impactful bench by Tom Cruse, Zurabi Zhvania, Will Stuart, Rowlands, Joe Simpson, Billy Searle and Rob Miller.

Director of Rugby Dai Young said:

“We have had some really tight and exciting games against our closest geographic rivals in recent times both here and at Welford Road, and I’m sure this weekend will be no different.

“Tigers put in a really good performance against Newcastle last week and got an excellent win. I thought they looked full of energy, were very aggressive at the tackle area, carried really strongly and generally looked the kind of force they have so often been over the years.

“They will very much want to keep that momentum going on Sunday, while we need to bounce back from losing to Exeter. Leicester never need any encouragement coming to the Ricoh for what is now very much a local derby and a big game for both sets of supporters.”

Tickets for Wasps v Leicester Tigers, priced from £15, are available by visiting the Ricoh Arena ticket office, going to www.wasps.co.uk/tickets or calling 02476 786411.

Under 10s go free in most areas of the Ricoh Arena.

Wasps team to face Leicester Tigers at the Ricoh Arena on Sunday September 16 (3:00pm kick off)

15 Elliot Daly

14 Christian Wade

13 Juan De Jongh

12 Michael Le Bourgeois

11 Josh Bassett

10 Lima Sopoaga

9 Dan Robson

1 Ben Harris

2 Tommy Taylor

3 Kieran Brookes

4 Joe Launchbury (c)

5 James Gaskell

6 Ashley Johnson

7 Nizaam Carr

8 Nathan Hughes



16 Tom Cruse

17 Zurabi Zhvania

18 Will Stuart

19 Will Rowlands

20 Ben Morris

21 Joe Simpson

22 Billy Searle

23 Rob Miller