Wasps team for the Gallagher Premiership Final

Date: 23 Oct 2020


Lee Blackett has named his side for Wasps’ Gallagher Premiership Final against Exeter Chiefs at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday. 

There are four changes to the starting line-up that beat Bristol Bears in the semi-final.

Tom Willis starts alongside brother Jack and Thomas Young in the back-row. In the front row Jeff Toomaga-Allen and Tom West come into start with Tommy Taylor.

Wasps’ second row engine room sees international duo Will Rowlands and captain Joe Launchbury link up once more.  

Juan de Jongh joins Jimmy Gopperth in the centres. The rest of the back-line remains the same with Dan Robson and Jacob Umaga linking up at half-back and the back-three of Josh Bassett, Zach Kibirige and Matteo Minozzi will look to excite again.

Amongst the replacements Ben Morris is the back-row cover on the bench. Joining Morris on the bench are experienced lock James Gaskell and the power-packed trio of front row replacements Gabriel Oghre, Ben Harris and Biyi Alo. 

Electric backs replacements Ben Vellacott, Lima Sopoaga and Michael Le Bourgeois will also get a chance to grace the Twickenham turf.

Brad Shields, Kieran Brookes, Simon McIntyre and Alfie Barbeary are unavailable after being ruled out due to contact tracing protocols. Malakai Fekitoa misses out through a groin injury picked up against the Bears.

Wasps Head Coach, Lee Blackett, said: “If we are all being honest, it hasn’t been ideal preparation, but I have to give credit to the players because they have coped with it admirably.

“A lot of credit must also go to the staff, especially Team Manager Dave Bassett, Head of Medical Ali James and Club Doctor Ralph Mitchell. The amount of work that they have put in behind the scenes to allow us to play in this game is phenomenal. 

“It has been a difficult week in terms of all of that, but the one thing that we spoke about at the start of the season is being adaptable. Now the players will do everything they can to put in a performance on Saturday. We know it will be tough, Exeter deservedly finished top of the league this season, but we are confident with the form that we can take into the game.”

Wasps team to face Exeter Chiefs at Twickenham Stadium on Saturday in the Gallagher Premiership Final (kick-off 6:00pm)

Wasps (First-team appearances)

15 Matteo Minozzi (18)

14 Zach Kibirige (25)

13 Juan de Jongh (58)

12 Jimmy Gopperth (105)

11 Josh Bassett (126)

10 Jacob Umaga (30)

9 Dan Robson (123)

1 Tom West (33)

2 Tommy Taylor (70)

3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen (20)

4 Joe Launchbury (c) (151)

5 Will Rowlands (93)

6 Jack Willis (61)

7 Thomas Young (119)

8 Tom Willis (21)



16 Gabriel Oghre (28)

17 Ben Harris (64)

18 Biyi Alo (15)

19 James Gaskell (120) 

20 Ben Morris (29)

21 Ben Vellacott (8)

22 Lima Sopoaga (42)

23 Michael Le Bourgeois (35)