Wasps quartet start for England in Cape Town

Date: 21 Jun 2018

Wasps skipper Joe Launchbury, No.8 Nathan Hughes and full back Elliot Daly retain their places in England’s starting line-up for Saturday’s third test with South Africa (4.05pm kick off).

Head coach Eddie Jones also hands Gloucester-bound Danny Cipriani the fly half shirt, although soon-to-be Wasp Brad Shields has been ruled out through illness.
His place in the back row is taken by Harlequins’ Chris Robshaw, whose clubmate Joe Marler replaces loose head Mako Vunipola who is on paternity leave.
Jones has selected five Exeter Chiefs on the bench, where Saracens’ Ben Spencer has held off the challenge of Dan Robson.
England’s boss said his team must respond well under pressure and adapt to anticipated wet Newlands conditions if they are to avoid a three-nil series defeat.
“We’ve had a really upbeat training week,” he said.
“We are up for the battle and are going to rip in on Saturday. We want another committed performance where it will be crucial to maintain our composure when the heat is on.
“We are expecting a wet and windy old day at Newlands and have elected to play Danny Cipriani ahead of George Ford to give us a left-foot kicking option. We will need to jump out of the blocks quickly again and make sure we maintain that pressure and make good decisions.
“I’ve been really impressed with the fortitude of the squad under Owen Farrell, who is a young captain, and with a number of young players who have really stuck to the task."
Wasps full back Willie le Roux who was prominent in South Africa's wins at Bloemfontein and Johannesburg, has been rotated to the bench as Springbok rugby director Rassie Erasmus tests squad combinations.
“No one is out of the team because of a lack of form, the changes are due to our long term planning for next year’s Rugby World Cup as we continue to build squad depth and capacity," he said.
“I expect a very physical and close-fought game. We are desperate to win and make it 3-0 while England will be desperate to win the game, make it 2-1 and finish their tour on a positive note.”

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps, 20 caps)
14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 36 caps)
13 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 12 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 60 caps) captain
11 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 71 caps)
10 Danny Cipriani (Wasps, 15 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 76 caps)  
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 58 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 27 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 12 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 53 caps)
5 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 21 caps)
6 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, 65 caps)
7 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 3 cap)
8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps, 16 caps)

16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps)
17 Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)
18 Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs, 10 caps)
19 Jonny Hill (Exeter Chiefs, 0 caps)
20 Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons, 3 caps)
21 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs, 7 caps)
22 Ben Spencer (Saracens, 2 cap)
23 Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks, 4 caps)

South Africa:
15. Warrick Gelant (Vodacom Bulls, 4 caps)
14. S'Busiso Nkosi (Cell C Sharks, 2 caps)
13. Jesse Kriel (Vodacom Bulls, 31 caps)
12. Andre Esterhuizen (Cell C Sharks, 1 cap)
11. Aphiwe Dyantyi (Emirates Lions, 2 caps)
10. Elton Jantjies (Emirates Lions, 25 caps)
9. Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks, England, 13 caps)
1. Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks, 100, 10 caps)
2. Chiliboy Ralepelle (Cell C Sharks, 24, 5 caps)
3. Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers, 18 caps)
4. RG Snyman (Vodacom Bulls, 2 caps)
5. Franco Mostert (Emirates Lions, 20 caps)
6. Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers, 30 caps) captain
7. Pieter-Steph du Toit (DHL Stormers, 35 caps)
8. Duane Vermeulen (Unattached, 41 caps)

16. Schalk Brits (Saracens, England, 10, 5 caps)
17. Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers, 26, 5 caps)
18. Thomas du Toit (Cell C Sharks, 3 caps)
19. Jean-Luc du Preez (Cell C Sharks, 12 caps)
20. Sikhumbuzo Notshe (DHL Stormers, 3 caps)
21. Embrose Papier (Vodacom Bulls, 1 caps)
22. Handré Pollard (Vodacom Bulls, 28 caps)
23. Willie le Roux (Wasps, England, 43, 55 caps)