Wasps name squad for 2017 Premiership Rugby Singha 7s

Date: 26 Jul 2017

Wasps have today named their squad for the 2017 Premiership Rugby Singha 7s, which will be hosted at Franklin’s Gardens this Friday and Saturday. 

Sevens Coach Lee Blackett has announced a strong 12-man squad, made up of 10 members of Wasps Senior Squad and two members of Wasps’ Senior Academy.

Wasps will utilise some of the sevens experience at the club with new signing Marcus Watson, who won a silver medal in the sevens at the 2016 Rio Olympics with Team GB, set to make his first appearance in black and gold. Christian Wade will again add his substantial sevens experience to the squad, having previously played for England Sevens and been a vital member of Wasps’ sevens squad for the last couple of years.


Dan Robson captains a squad including Josh Bassett, Brendan Macken, Guy Thompson, Alex Rieder and Craig Hampson, who were all involved in winning the tournament last year. The team announced today boasts the likes of Guy Armitage and Gaby Lovobalavu, also set to make his first appearance for the club.       


There are also opportunities for new senior academy signing Gabriel Oghre and Owain James.

Ahead of the tournament kicking off on Friday, Sevens coach Lee Blackett said, “We have named an exciting squad and all the players picked are highly motivated and eager to show what they can do with a new season fast approaching.


“We have some good experience of sevens in this group, with the likes of Marcus Watson and Christian Wade having represented England in the shortened version of the game. Over half of this squad were involved last year, although defending our title will be difficult with so many top teams involved.  


“We will be looking to put some of the pre-season work to the test, with the limited availability of some of our academy players due to international commitments, we felt this was a good opportunity to use the tournament as preparation for some of our senior squad players for the coming season. 

“It’s a good opportunity for our players to play in such a fast paced, high intensity format of the game which is always electrifying to watch. Franklin’s Gardens is a fantastic place to play, I’m sure their passionate fans will turn out in force as always and it will be another great atmosphere." 


Blackett’s coaching assistants for the tournament will be Jimmy Gopperth and Jack Wiggins, the Henley College and Wasps AASE Rugby Academy Manager.


Wasps have been drawn in Pool A alongside Newcastle Falcons and Leicester Tigers. Wasps will kick off the action on Friday night against Newcastle at 6pm, before facing Leicester at 7:28pm in match five.  


The home of Northampton Saints will host the first Olympic style version of the Premiership Rugby 7s, with all 12 Premiership Rugby teams taking part across two days of action. Teams have been split into four pools of three in the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s 2017, and they will play each other on a round-robin basis with the tournament splitting into Cup, Plate and Bowl competitions on the second day. 


Wasps’ 12 man squad for Singha 7s
1. Marcus Watson
2. Brendan Macken
3. Christian Wade
4. Gabiriele Lovobalavu
5. Gabriel Oghre
6. Alex Rieder
7. Guy Thompson
8. Owain James
9. Dan Robson (c)
10. Craig Hampson
11. Josh Bassett
12. Guy Armitage


Pool A 
Newcastle Falcons
Leicester Tigers 

Pool B 
Gloucester Rugby 
London Irish 

Pool C 
Sale Sharks 
Worcester Warriors 
Bath Rugby

Pool D 
Exeter Chiefs 
Northampton Saints 

Friday Evening
Match 1 6pm Wasps v Newcastle Falcons 
Match 2 6:22pm Harlequins v Gloucester Rugby 
Match 3 6:44pm Sale Sharks v Worcester Warriors 
Match 4 7:06pm Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints 
Match 5 7:28pm Wasps v Leicester Tigers 
Match 6 7:50pm Harlequins v London Irish 
Match 7 8:12pm Sale Sharks v Bath Rugby 
Match 8 8:34pm Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 
Match 9 8:56pm Newcastle Falcons v Leicester Tigers 
Match 10 9:18pm Gloucester Rugby v London Irish
Match 11 9:40pm Worcester Warriors v Bath Rugby 
Match 12 10:02pm Northampton Saints v Saracens 

Saturday Afternoon/Evening 
Cup QF 1 3pm 1st v 8th 
Cup QF 2 3:22pm 2nd v 7th 
Cup QF 3 3:44pm 3rd v 6th
Cup QF 4 4:06pm 4th v 5th
Bowl SF 1 4:28pm 9th v 12th
Bowl SF 2 4:50pm 10th v 11th
Plate SF 1 5:12pm Loser QF 1 v Loser QF 4
Plate SF 2 5:34pm Loser QF 2 v Loser QF 3 
Cup SF 1 5:56pm Winner QF 1 V Winner QF 4
Cup SF 2 6:18pm Winner QF 2 V Winner QF 3 
Bowl Final 6:40pm Winner Bowl SF 1 V Winner Bowl SF 2 
Plate Final 7:02pm Winner Plate SF 1 V Winner Plate SF 2
Cup Final 7:24pm Winner Cup SF 1 V Winner Cup SF 2