Thomas Young nominated for European Player of the Year

Date: 20 Mar 2017

Wasps' Thomas Young has joined teammates Joe Launchbury and Elliot Daly as a nominee for EPCR European Player of the Year. 

Young becomes the fifteenth and final nominee for the award following Tyler Bleyendaal, Owen Farrell, Tadhg Furlong, Jonny Gray, Stuart Hogg, Maro Itoje, Camille Lopez, Conor Murray, Isa Nacewa, Noa Nakaitaci, Garry Ringrose, CJ Stander, Daly and Launchbury. 

The Welsh flanker has impressed in this season's Champions Cup, racking up some terrific statistics: 

Carries: 38
Metres: 93
Tackles: 66
Defenders Beaten: 11 

The 15 players from the European club game have been selected for a vote, which will open on Monday, 3 April after the quarter-final matches in the European Rugby Champions Cup and Challenge Cup.

Your choices will see the list whittled down to five candidates, with the winners being announced as a combination of the fans vote and the choice of a distinguished panel of rugby experts, around the Finals weekend in Edinburgh in May.

Itoje landed one million air miles from partners Turkish Airlines after receiving the accolade in 2016, shortly after his Man of the Match role in Saracens' victory over Racing 92 in Lyon.

You can keep in touch with the nominees, and prepare your choice for European club rugby's star performer of the year, at If you take part you, too, could win you some exciting rugby prizes.