McIntyre returns to start against former club

Date: 7 Nov 2019

Wasps prop Simon McIntyre will return to the starting line-up for this Friday night’s Gallagher Premiership Round 4 clash against his former club Sale Sharks at the AJ Bell Stadium (kick-off 7.45pm).

McIntyre, who has yet to feature this season following a hernia operation, is named at loosehead to partner Kieran Brookes and Tommy Taylor in the front-row – the latter who will also be coming up against his former employers.

Charlie Matthews replaces James Gaskell (shoulder) in the second-row alongside Will Rowlands, while Brad Shields, Nizaam Carr and Sione Vailanu occupy the back-row.

Another former Sale player in Paolo Odogwu starts, as he keeps his place in the back-three next to Matteo Minozzi and Zach Kibirige, while Juan de Jongh replaces the injured Malakai Fekitoa (hand) to partner Jimmy Gopperth in the centres.

Dan Robson will lead the side from scrum-half after scoring two tries in the opening three league matches, alongside Lima Sopoaga at stand-off, whose 15 points last weekend saw him pass the 200-point milestone for the Club.

Jack Willis returns after a laceration to his knee to be named among the replacements, while Tom Cruse is also set for his 50th Premiership appearance in Wasps colours from the bench.

Wasps Director of Rugby Dai Young said: “There were a lot of pleasing aspects to our performance last weekend against Bath but now we have to back that up.

“Sale is always a difficult place to go and they are a side littered with top-class players and will no doubt be competing at the top of the table throughout this season.

“We pushed them all the way a few weeks ago when we went up there in the Cup, so hopefully we can produce an 80-minute performance when we head up this Friday and come away with the right result.”

Tickets to Wasps home games are available by clicking the link below or calling 02476 786411. 

Wasps team to face Sale Sharks this Friday in the Gallagher Premiership at the AJ Bell Stadium (kick-off 7.45pm)

Wasps (First-team appearances)

15 Matteo Minozzi (1)

14 Zach Kibirige (6)

13 Juan de Jongh (53)

12 Jimmy Gopperth (81)

11 Paolo Odogwu (3)

10 Lima Sopoaga (29)

9 Dan Robson (C) (101)

1 Simon McIntyre (159)

2 Tommy Taylor (53)

3 Kieran Brookes (24)

4 Charlie Matthews (18)

5 Will Rowlands (77)

6 Brad Shields (20)

7 Nizaam Carr (43)

8 Sione Vailanu (7)



16 Tom Cruse (67)

17 Ben Harris (50)

18 Jeff Toomaga-Allen (6)

19 Thibaud Flament (6)

20 Jack Willis (40)

21 Sam Wolstenholme (5)

22 Billy Searle (15)

23 Michael Le Bourgeois (19)