Marcus Watson on the Citizen Try of the Season shortlist

Date: 13 May 2019

Wasps' Marcus Watson has been named on the shortlist for the Citizen Try of the Season. 

Six scintillating scores are in the running for the Citizen Try of the Season award – with you the fans getting your chance to have your say on who takes home the prize.

In what has been one of the most compelling, competitive and exciting Gallagher Premiership Rugby seasons to date, amazing tries have been scored up and down the country, week in week out.

The long list has been whittled down to a final six, with players from Gloucester Rugby, Northampton Saints, Wasps, Exeter Chiefs and Newcastle Falcons on the shortlist.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 22 May at the star-studded 2019 Premiership Rugby Awards, presented by Gallagher, and the full Citizen of the Season shortlist is:

  • Charlie Sharples - Gloucester Rugby - Round 1
  • Ollie Thorley - Gloucester Rugby - Round 7
  • Tom Collins - Northampton Saints - Round 13
  • Marcus Watson - Wasps - Round 15
  • Henry Slade - Exeter Chiefs - Round 18
  • Michael Young – Newcastle Falcons – Round 21

To watch the tries and cast your vote open or download the official Premiership Rugby app, select the More button in the bottom menu and go to Polls. Voting closing at 5pm on Friday so to ensure your favourite player wins, get voting on the official Premiership Rugby app.

The winner of the public vote will be combined with the scores from a panel of judges, with the overall winner announced on Wednesday 22 May at the star-studded 2019 Premiership Rugby Awards, presented by Gallagher.

The judges are Nick Mullins (BT Sport), Alastair Eykyn (BT Sport), Mick Cleary (The Daily Telegraph), Sarah Mockford (Rugby World), Robert Kitson (The Guardian), Chris Jones (BBC 5 Live), Owen Slot (The Times) and Tom Hamilton (ESPN), with Premiership Rugby Communications Director Paul Morgan chairing the panel.

Along with the winner of the Citizen Try of the Season, the winners of the following awards will also be announced at the 2019 Premiership Rugby Awards, presented by Gallagher:

  • Gallagher Premiership Rugby Player of the Season
  • Ricoh Director of Rugby of the Season
  • BT Sport Dream Team
  • Land Rover Discovery of the Season
  • Gallagher Community Player of the Season
  • Premiership Rugby 7s Player of the Season
  • Top Try Scorer of the Season
  • Gilbert Golden Boot

The winners at the 2019 Premiership Rugby Awards, presented by Gallagher, will be announced first on Twitter via the @premrugby account. Use hashtag #PremRugbyAwards to join the conversation. 

All eyes are now on Wasps' final game of the season v Harlequins at Ricoh Arena on Saturday 18 May (kick-off 4pm).

Tickets are available by clicking the button below, starting from £19 for adults, with under 10s free in certain price categories.