Le Roux set for 50th Wasps appearance against Newcastle

Date: 8 Mar 2019

Springbok Willie Le Roux will make his 50th appearance for Wasps this Saturday when he steps out at Ricoh Arena to take on Newcastle Falcons in Round 16 of the Gallagher Premiership (kick-off 2pm).

Meanwhile, Wasps are forced into one change to the starting line-up as Jack Willis comes in for Thomas Young (hip) ahead of an all-important clash, as Wasps look to hunt down the play-off places and Newcastle fight to avoid the drop.

Back row Ben Morris comes into the replacements while Academy fly half Jacob Umaga is also named on the bench and could make his Premiership debut.

The rest of the matchday 23 remains unchanged from last weekend’s outing at Leicester Tigers.

Wasps Director of Rugby Dai Young said: “This is a massive game and we have to win to stay in the mix for the top four really, although we do have to still play the teams around us.

“Newcastle are scrapping for their lives as are most teams in the league at the moment – it’s that tight.

“Every game is huge, every bonus point. It’s not just about picking up points but restricting others from getting points too so it’s all to play for.

“We owe it to the fans and to ourselves to get back on track at home. We value playing at the Ricoh. We have a fantastic stadium and fantastic support.

“We have to start well and get the crowd behind us and once they’re involved they play a big part.”

Following the game, fans can watch England v Italy in the Fan Village where six Wasps are set to feature. Tickets for the game are available by clicking the link below or calling 02476 786411.



Wasps team to face Newcastle Falcons at Ricoh Arena on Saturday 9 March (kick-off 2pm)

Wasps (First-team appearances)
15 Willie Le Roux (49)
14 Marcus Watson (22)
13 Juan de Jongh (42)
12 Gaby Lovobalavu (28)
11 Josh Bassett (98)
10 Rob Miller (97)
9 Joe Simpson (250)
1 Ben Harris (41)
2 Tommy Taylor (45)
3 Will Stuart (29)
4 Will Rowlands (69)
5 James Gaskell (103)
6 Ashley Johnson (c) (180)
7 Jack Willis (35)
8 Nizaam Carr (30)

16 Tom Cruse (56)
17 Tom West (12)
18 Biyi Alo (1)
19 Charlie Matthews (12)
20 Ben Morris (14)
21 Craig Hampson (29)
22 Jacob Umaga (7)
23 Ross Neal (10)