Gabriel Oghre named in England U20 side to play France

Gabriel Oghre named in England U20 side to play France

Gabriel Oghre named in England U20 side to play France

Date: 7 Mar 2018

Fresh from signing a contract extension with Wasps this week Gabriel Oghre has been named by England U20s head coach Steve Bates in his side to play France on Friday at Stade de la Mediterranee, Beziers (KO 8pm GMT).

Oghre retains his place on the bench with Henry Walker, Marcus Street, Dino Lamb, Ben Earl, Cameron Redpath and Gabriel Ibitoye returning to the starting line-up, having not been involved against Scotland.

Earl will captain the side from flanker, having scored his first Premiership try for Saracens on Sunday, while scrum half Ben White is named in the starting XV after being among the replacements against Scotland.

James Grayson is chosen at full back with Jordan Olowofela switching to the wing. Fraser Dingwall will partner Redpath in midfield.

The match is the fourth fixture of the 2018 U20 Six Nations with unbeaten France leading the table with three bonus-point victories so far in the tournament.

England have two bonus-point victories and a defeat against Scotland from their three games heading into Friday’s fixture.

Steve Bates said:
 “Friday is going to be a massive challenge for the squad but it is one we’re relishing.

“We know this is going to be a tough game, they have played exceptionally well in their three games and at home they are going to be a real handful.

“However, that’s the beauty of the Six Nations, this is going to be a huge challenge that many of the players would not have experienced before and I’m expecting them to rise to it.

“I want to see us bounce back from the disappointment of losing to Scotland. We have to match France physically and play with intensity. I expect our forwards to be abrasive and our backs to play at a high-tempo.

“We have to be more accurate with the ball, keep our composure and raise our game.”

England U20s
15. James Grayson (Northampton Saints)
14. Gabriel Ibitoye (Harlequins)
13. Fraser Dingwall (Northampton Saints)
12. Cameron Redpath (Sale Sharks)
11. Jordan Olowofela (Leicester Tigers)
10. Tom Hardwick (Leicester Tigers)
9. Ben White (Leicester Tigers)
1. Toby Trinder (Northampton Saints)
2. Henry Walker (Gloucester Rugby)
3. Marcus Street (Exeter Chiefs)
4. Dino Lamb (Harlequins)
5. Sam Lewis (Leicester Tigers)
6. Josh Basham (London Irish)
7. Ben Earl (capt) (Saracens)
8. Sam Moore (Sale Sharks)

16. Gabriel Oghre (Wasps)
17. Alex Seville (Gloucester Rugby)
18. Ehren Painter (Northampton Saints)
19. James Scott (Worcester Warriors)
20. Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors)
21. Rory Brand (London Irish)
22. Will Butler (Worcester Warriors)
23. Tom Seabrook (Gloucester Rugby)