Four Wasps named in wider England squad for Old Mutual Wealth Series opener

Date: 26 Oct 2017

Eddie Jones has named Wasps' Elliot Daly, Nathan Hughes, Joe Launchbury and Matt Mullan in his England squad to begin their preparations for the opening match of the Old Mutual Wealth Series against Argentina.

England will play Argentina on 11 November at Twickenham Stadium - kick off 3pm live on Sky Sports - before facing Australia (18 November) and Samoa (25 November).
34 players will convene on Sunday (29 October) to travel to Portugal for a training camp before the squad assemble at Pennyhill Park on Sunday (5 November) ahead of the Argentina match.
This will be England’s fourth Test against the Pumas in the last year having beaten them in last season’s Old Mutual Wealth Series and twice on the tour of Argentina in June.
Eddie Jones, England Head Coach said: “Our first match against Argentina in the Old Mutual Wealth Series is a significant game for England and everything we have been doing in our training camps so far this season has been geared around getting the detail right in our preparation on how we want to play and win against them next month. 
“This will be the fourth time we have played against Argentina in the last 12 months and the last time we play them before 2019, so we want to make sure our record against them is 4-0.”
Exeter Chiefs’ Sam Simmonds receives his first call up into the England squad. The 22 year-old has made 27 appearances for his club, scoring 13 tries and was a key member of the side that won the Premiership title last season. 
Jones has also included 18 year-old Marcus Smith (Harlequins) and 20 year-old Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby) as apprentices in the England squad. Both players won’t be named in match day squads but will be involved in England’s training and preparation for the three-match series.


Full backs
Mike Brown (Harlequins)
Elliot Daly (Wasps)
Jonny May (Leicester Tigers)
Denny Solomona (Sale Sharks)
Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)

Inside backs
Danny Care (Harlequins)
Owen Farrell (Saracens)
George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
Piers Francis (Northampton Saints)
Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby)
Alex Lozowski (Saracens)
Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
Marcus Smith (Harlequins) *
Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Back five
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks)
Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby)
Nathan Hughes (Wasps)
Nick Isiekwe (Saracens)
Maro Itoje (Saracens)
George Kruis (Saracens)
Joe Launchbury (Wasps)
Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)
Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby) *
Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)
Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby)

Front row
Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)
Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby)
Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers)
Jamie George (Saracens)
Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)
Matt Mullan (Wasps)
Mako Vunipola (Saracens)
Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs) 
*Apprentice players
Players unavailable due to injury or suspension
Jack Clifford (Harlequins)
Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs)
Joe Marler (Harlequins)
Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)
Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins)
Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors)
Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers)
Billy Vunipola (Saracens)