England name four Wasps for Paris mission

Date: 8 Mar 2018

England name four Wasps for Paris mission

Fit-again Elliot Daly makes his first Six Nations appearance of the season when England take on France in Paris on Saturday  (4:45pm GMT).

He is selected on the left wing in a restructured back three which sees Bath's Anthony Watson replace Mike Brown at full back and Jonny May switch wings.

Daly is joined in Eddie Jones' starting XV by his club captain Joe Launchbury and powerhouse No.8 Nathan Hughes, while James Haskell's first involvement of the current campaign comes as part of an experienced bench.

Injury has ruled out captain Dylan Hartley, who is replaced by British Lions starting hooker Jamie George with Exeter's Luke Cowan-Dickie named among the replacements.

This is the only change made to the pack which started England's defeat to Scotland in round three.

George's Saracens club-mate Owen Farrell captains the team with another Allianz Park favourite, Mako Vunipola, is named as vice-captain.

One further change to the starting line-up sees Worcester's Ben Te’o replaces Jonathan Joseph at outside centre, while Exeter's Sam Simmonds returns to the bench after injury.

England head coach Jones said he is seeking a reaction from his players to their disappointing performance at Murrayfield.

“This game is about the opportunity for the team to move forward and we want a response from the players this week," he said. 

“Against France we want to be brutal and aggressive on the gain line and to play with a great tactical discipline.”

On Farrell captaining the side Jones said: “Owen will be very proud to be captain but at the same time he is disappointed for Dylan to miss out through injury and he knows the position of captain carries a lot of responsibility.”

England line-up:
15 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby 31 caps)
14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers 32 caps)
13 Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors 11 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens 56 caps) C
11 Elliot Daly (Wasps 16 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers 43 caps)
9 Danny Care (Harlequins 79 caps)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens 47 caps) VC
2 Jamie George (Saracens 23 caps)
3 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers 80 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (Wasps 50 caps)
5 Maro Itoje (Saracens 17 caps)
6 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints 64 caps)
7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins 62 caps)
8 Nathan Hughes (Wasps 13 caps)
16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs 4 caps)
17 Joe Marler (Harlequins 54 caps)
18 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins 8 caps)
19 James Haskell (Wasps 75 caps)
20 Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs 5 caps)
21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens 29 caps)
22 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby 38 caps)
23 Mike Brown (Harlequins 67 caps)