Eight changes for Wasps to face Gloucester

Date: 5 Oct 2018

Wasps Director of Rugby Dai Young has made eight changes to his side ahead of this Saturday’s Round 6 Gallagher Premiership clash with Gloucester Rugby at Ricoh Arena (kick-off 3pm).

All Black fly-half Lima Sopoaga, who proved to be Wasps’ match-winner last time out at Newcastle Falcons, misses out with a neck injury, meaning Billy Searle deputises at fly-half.

Dan Robson also gets to start in the half-back combination while Elliot Daly returns to the starting line-up as captain to form the centre pairing with Juan de Jongh.

Christian Wade is recalled in place of Marcus Watson and partners Josh Bassett and Rob Miller in the back three.

The front row sees a clean sweep of changes, as last week’s bench become this week’s starters, with Ben Harris, Tommy Taylor and Kieran Brookes all getting the nod.

Will Rowlands and James Gaskell keep their spots in the second row as do Ashley Johnson and Nizaam Carr in the back row, but Nathan Hughes is restored to the starting 15.

Thomas Young and Craig Hampson could make their first appearances of the season from the bench while Gaby Lovobalavu recovers from a knee injury to be named among the replacements.

Wasps boss Dai Young said: “Gloucester are difficult to break down so it’s going to be a tough game and we know we will have to be at our best to win. It’s also an important game for us to try and finish off this block of Premiership fixtures with a win at home. If we won, I’d be totally satisfied with our points haul in the Premiership before we enter into Europe.” 

Tickets for tomorrow's game at Ricoh Arena against Gloucester Rugby are priced from £15 and are available by visiting the Ricoh Arena Ticket Office, going to www.wasps.co.uk/tickets or calling 02476 786411.

Under 10s go free in most areas of the Ricoh Arena.

Wasps team to face Gloucester Rugby at Ricoh Arena on Saturday 6 October (kick-off 3:00pm)

15 Rob Miller

14 Christian Wade

13 Elliot Daly (C)

12 Juan de Jongh

11 Josh Bassett

10 Billy Searle

9 Dan Robson

1 Ben Harris

2 Tommy Taylor

3 Kieran Brookes

4 Will Rowlands

5 James Gaskell

6 Ashley Johnson

7 Nizaam Carr

8 Nathan Hughes



16 Tom Cruse

17 Zurabi Zhvania

18 Will Stuart

19 Kearnan Myall

20 Thomas Young

21 Craig Hampson

22 Michael Le Bourgeois

23 Gaby Lovobalavu