Dai Young names team to face Newcastle Falcons

Date: 4 May 2018

Dai Young has introduced two new faces to the match day 23 that faces Newcastle at Kingston Park tomorrow.

With Simon McIntyre recuperating from the foot injury suffered against Northampton, former Falcon Ben Harris starts in the front row alongside Tom Cruse and Marty Moore.
Elsewhere in the pack, Kearnan Myall joins skipper Joe Launchbury in the second row while James Haskell and Jack Willis respectively start on the blindside flank and at No.8.
Behind the scrum, Young’s second new face, Kyle Eastmond, partners Gaby Lovobalavu in an exciting centre combination.
Joe Simpson joins Danny Cipriani at half-back and Josh Bassett and Elliot Daly fill the wing berths while this season’s leading appearance maker Christian Wade recovers from a dead leg.
A power-packed bench includes Jimmy Gopperth who spent four years with Newcastle between 2009 and 2013.

Director of rugby Dai Young said:
"Newcastle have got to take a lot of credit for the season they're having.
“They've been fantastic, not only in the Premiership, as they've got to the latter stages of every competition they’ve entered and I’m sure they will want to finish in style.
"You've got to tip your hat to Dean Richards. He's doing a superb job and they have a really strong all-round team that play for each other.
“It's an important game for us, we want a strong performance and hopefully a really good win to take us nicely into the play-offs.
"But we also have to look ahead and prepare for the semi-final, so we can’t just look at this one game in isolation. We're therefore trying to have a two-game focus and recognise that both games are really important to us.
"We have aimed to give ourselves the best chance of winning the semi-final by arriving with a squad of 23 players who all have plenty of recent game time under their belts.”

Wasps team to play Newcastle Falcons
15. Willie Le Roux
14. Josh Bassett
13. Gaby Lovobalavu
12. Kyle Eastmond
11. Elliot Daly
10. Danny Cipriani
9. Joe Simpson
1. Ben Harris
2. Tom Cruse
3. Marty Moore
4. Joe Launchbury ©
5. Kearnan Myall
6. James Haskell
7. Thomas Young
8. Jack Willis

16. Tommy Taylor
17. Matt Mullan
18. Will Stuart
19. Will Rowlands
20. Guy Thompson
21. Dan Robson
22. Jimmy Gopperth
23. Juan De Jongh