2017/18 pre-season schedule confirmed

Date: 22 Jun 2017

Wasps have today confirmed their 2017/18 pre-season schedule, which will see them face Connacht Rugby and Ulster Rugby, as well as taking part in the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s.

The Ricoh Arena will host the last warm up game ahead of the new season, as Wasps welcome Connacht Rugby to the Ricoh Arena on Wednesday 23 August, kick off 7.30pm. 

Wasps faced Connacht in last season’s European Champions Cup pool stages, which produced two fantastic contests. 

Once again, Wasps 2017/18 Season Members will be able to attend the pre-season game against Connacht Rugby for free as part of their package. Don’t miss out on any Wasps fixtures or the club’s 150thanniversary celebrations next season at the Ricoh Arena. Get your 2017/18 Season Membership now by clicking here. 

Earlybird tickets to the Connacht game are now on sale via wasps.co.uk/tickets. Prices start at just £10 for adults and under 10s go free.

Season Members, please note the above fixture is a paper ticket fixture and as the North Stand will be closed, supporters with season cards will be relocated and sent paper tickets. North Stand Season Members will be relocated to a better position in the stadium.

Wasps will kick off their pre-season schedule at the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s. This season’s competition will see Franklin’s Gardens host the first Olympic style version of the Premiership Rugby 7s on Friday 28 July and Saturday 29 July, with all 12 Premiership Rugby teams taking part across two days of action.     

The first fifteen-a-side game of the pre-season schedule will see Wasps play Ulster Rugby at the Kingspan Stadium on Thursday 17 August, kick off 7.30pm.    

Ulster, who finished in fifth place in the Guinness Pro 12 last season, have also been drawn in Wasps’ European Champions Cup pool for next season. 

Tickets for that game can be purchased directly through Ulster Rugby and are on sale online here 

Pre-season schedule
Friday 28 July/Saturday 29 July – Singha Premiership Rugby 7s – Franklin’s Gardens
Thursday 17 August – Ulster Rugby – Kingspan Stadium 7.30pm KO
Wednesday 23 August – Connacht Rugby – Ricoh Arena  7.30pm KO 

Summary of new signings and leavers ahead of the 2017/18 season

Marcus Watson (Newcastle Falcons), Ben Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Antonio ‘TJ’ Harris (Nottingham Rugby), Gabiriele Lovobalavu (Bayonne), Juan de Jongh (Stormers), Paul Doran-Jones (Gloucester Rugby), David Langley (Cambridge), Will Porter (Senior Academy), Tom Willis (Senior Academy). 

Nick De Luca (Retired), Alapati Leiua (Bristol Rugby), Tom Bristow, Phil Swainston (Harlequins), Tom Howe (Worcester Warriors), Kurtley Beale (Waratahs), Frank Halai (Pau), George Edgson (Bedford Blues), Ehize Ehizode (Bristol Rugby), Carlo Festuccia (Retired), Piers O’Conor (Ealing Trailfinders).