2017 Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series Fixtures Released

Date: 7 Jul 2017

Premiership Rugby have today confirmed the fixtures for the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series which takes place at Franklin's Gardens on Friday 28 July and Saturday 29 July.

The home of Northampton Saints will host the first Olympic style version of the Premiership Rugby 7s, with all 12 Premiership Rugby teams taking part across two days of action. 

Teams have been split into four pools of three in the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s 2017, and they will play each other on a round-robin basis with the tournament splitting into Cup, Plate and Bowl competitions on the second day. 

Having won the tournament last year at the Ricoh Arena, Wasps go into this year's tournament as top seeds. Wasps have been drawn in Pool A alongside Newcastle Falcons and Leicester Tigers. Wasps will kick off the action on Friday night against Newcastle at 6pm, before facing Leicester at 7:28pm in match five.  

Lee Blackett will coach the Wasps team at this year’s event. “The Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series is a great way to kick off the season,” said Blackett.

“The level of competition in the Series rises each year and this season should be no different. It was a brilliant event for the club to host the 7s series at the Ricoh Arena last season and we were delighted to lift the trophy on home turf. Franklin’s Gardens is a fantastic place to play, I’m sure their passionate fans will turn out in force as always and it will be another great atmosphere." 

Blackett added: “The weekend should feature some really competitive teams and all of the clubs will be looking to get a springboard into the Premiership season. Winning the title last season helped our pre-season preparations and hopefully this year will be no different, although defending our title will be difficult with so many top teams involved.

“All players will be highly motivated, keen to show what they can do with a new season just around the corner. It’s also a good opportunity to put some of the pre-season work to the test, in such a fast paced, high intensity format of the game which is always exciting to watch with loads of tries being scored. The tournament should give fans the opportunity to see a blend of experience and plenty of bright new talent hoping to grace Aviva Premiership Rugby in the not too distant future.”

Pool A 
Newcastle Falcons 
Leicester Tigers 

Pool B 
Gloucester Rugby 
London Irish 

Pool C 
Sale Sharks 
Worcester Warriors 
Bath Rugby

Pool D 
Exeter Chiefs 
Northampton Saints 

Friday Evening
Match 1 6pm Wasps v Newcastle Falcons 
Match 2 6:22pm Harlequins v Gloucester Rugby 
Match 3 6:44pm Sale Sharks v Worcester Warriors
Match 4 7:06pm Exeter Chiefs v Northampton Saints
Match 5 7:28pm Wasps v Leicester Tigers 
Match 6 7:50pm Harlequins v London Irish 
Match 7 8:12pm Sale Sharks v Bath Rugby 
Match 8 8:34pm Exeter Chiefs v Saracens 
Match 9 8:56pm Newcastle Falcons v Leicester Tigers 
Match 10 9:18pm Gloucester Rugby v London Irish
Match 11 9:40pm Worcester Warriors v Bath Rugby 
Match 12 10:02pm Northampton Saints v Saracens 

Saturday Afternoon/Evening 
Cup QF 1 3pm 1st v 8th 
Cup QF 2 3:22pm 2nd v 7th 
Cup QF 3 3:44pm 3rd v 6th
Cup QF 4 4:06pm 4th v 5th
Bowl SF 1 4:28pm 9th v 12th
Bowl SF 2 4:50pm 10th v 11th
Plate SF 1 5:12pm Loser QF 1 v Loser QF 4
Plate SF 2 5:34pm Loser QF 2 v Loser QF 3 
Cup SF 1 5:56pm Winner QF 1 V Winner QF 4
Cup SF 2 6:18pm Winner QF 2 V Winner QF 3 
Bowl Final 6:40pm Winner Bowl SF 1 V Winner Bowl SF 2 
Plate Final 7:02pm Winner Plate SF 1 V Winner Plate SF 2
Cup Final 7:24pm Winner Cup SF 1 V Winner Cup SF 2