Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Daly and Wade nominated for Guinness Try of the Season

Premiership Rugby have today confirmed their shortlist for this year’s Guinness Try of the Season, which includes tries from both Elliot Daly and Christian Wade.

Tries from three different Aviva Premiership Rugby clubs have made the five-try shortlist and the winner will be announced at the Premiership Rugby Awards Dinner on 9 May at the London Hilton, Park Lane.

Wade, who is also nominated for the Aviva Premiership Rugby Player of the Season award, is included for his try against Harlequins on the opening day of the season, while Daly is nominated for his recent effort against Northampton Saints at Adams Park.

"We saw some breathtaking tries in Aviva Premiership Rugby this season so I am very grateful to the panel for their hard work in producing this shortlist,” said Phil Winstanley the Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby. "Looking at them, any of the five would be a worthy winner.”

The shortlist is:
• Christian Wade – London Wasps v Harlequins - 1.9.12
• Manu Tuilagi – Leicester Tigers v Worcester Warriors – 8.9.12
• James Simpson-Daniel – Gloucester Rugby v London Wasps – 22.9.12
• Dan Bowden – Leicester Tigers v Saracens – 23.2.13
• Elliot Daly – London Wasps v Northampton Saints – 23.3.13

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of media professionals - Miles Harrison (Sky Sports), Alastair Eykyn (BBC 5 Live), Jill Douglas (Freelance), Stephen Jones (Sunday Times), Nick Mullins (ESPN), Adam Hathaway (Chairman of the Rugby Writers' Club and Sunday People), Hugh Godwin (The Independent and Independent on Sunday), David Rogers (Getty Images), and Alan Pearey (Rugby World). They were joined by Phil Winstanley (Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby) and Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby's Communications Director) who chaired the panel.

Last season’s winner: Jonny May of Gloucester Rugby