Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

London Wasps name team for return to domestic action

Director of Rugby Dai Young has named his squad to face Harlequins at the Stoop this Saturday, kick off 8pm.

Dai Young has named a strong and exciting side to face the league leaders in the Aviva Premiership this weekend.

Billy Vunipola returns from his time with England to take his place in the side, starting at eight, flanked by Ashley Johnson at six and Sam Jones at seven.

At lock, vice-captain Marco Wentzel lines up alongside James Cannon, while in the front row, T Rhys Thomas starts at Hooker with Zak Taulafo and Phil Swainston either side of him.

The backline has an exciting feel about it, having been boosted this week by the return of a number of players who were included in the England Saxons squad.

Joe Simpson starts at nine, with Nick Robinson outside him at fly half, while Chris Bell and Elliot Daly pair up in midfield. Christian Wade and Tom Varndell take their places on the wings, with captain Hugo Southwell at fullback.

On the bench, Alex Rae is included in the squad after signing for the club this week. Charlie Hayter also gets a spot on the bench, having impressed during the recent LV=Cup games.

Matt Everard also takes a spot on the bench, coming into the squad as a late injury replacement for Tinus Du Plessis.

Ahead of this weekend’s game, Director of Rugby Dai Young said:

“There has been a good atmosphere around the place this week in leading up to the first Aviva Premiership game in over a month. Harlequins are a side who tend to negotiate the international periods very well so we know how tough a task we will have on Saturday night. They showed us how quickly they can change a game on the opening day of the season and we will have to be at our best to get a result this weekend.”

London Wasps team to play Harlequins at the Stoop on Saturday 9 February, kick off 8pm.

15. Hugo Southwell (c)
14. Christian Wade
13. Elliot Daly
12. Chris Bell
11. Tom Varndell
10. Nick Robinson
9. Joe Simpson

1. Zak Taulafo
2. T Rhys Thomas
3. Phil Swainston
4. James Cannon
5. Marco Wentzel
6. Ashley Johnson
7. Sam Jones
8. Billy Vunipola


16. Tom Lindsay
17. Tim Payne
18. Will Taylor
19. Alex Rae
20. Matt Everard
21. Charlie Davies
22. Stephen Jones
23. Charlie Hayter