Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Four Wasps for England

All four of the Wasps players in the England U20 squad have been selected to start the second-round Junior World Cup game against Scotland.

Joe Launchbury (lock) and Elliot Daly (centre) start their second games in a row having featured against Ireland last Friday night, while Sam Jones (number 8) and Christian Wade (winger) come into the starting line-up.

Jones came off the bench in the 33-25 opening day win while Wade is making his first appearance of the tournament.

There are nine changes in all from the team that played on the first day. Worcester Warriors flanker Matt Kvesic will captain the side in place of Newcastle Falcons No. 8 Alex Gray, who is on the bench, while Saracens fly half Owen Farrell starts at No. 10 for the first time in his England career, in place of Leicester Tigers’ George Ford.

Other new starters include Ryan Bower (Leicester Tigers), Rob Buchanan (Harlequins), Will Collier (Harlequins), Sam Twomey (Harlequins), Marland Yarde (London Irish) and Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby).

Head Coach Rob Hunter is keen to stress that the rotation policy is all part of having a squad, particularly at the Junior World Championship, where the games come thick and fast.

“We’re very lucky to have such strength in depth across all positions within the squad,” he said. “It’s important that we rotate effectively so that we get the most out of these guys over the five games."

England U20 play Scotland in Treviso on Tuesday, June 14. The game will be shown live on Sky Sports 4, kick off 5.10pm.

1) Ryan Bower (Leicester Tigers)
2) Rob Buchanan (Harlequins)
3) Will Collier (Harlequins)
4) Sam Twomey (Harlequins)
5) Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
6) Matt Kvesic © (Worcester Warriors)
7) Matt Everard (Leicester Tigers)
8) Sam Jones (London Wasps)
15) Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)
14) Marland Yarde (London Irish)
13) Elliot Daly (London Wasps)
12) Ryan Mills (Gloucester Rugby)
11) Christian Wade (London Wasps)
10) Owen Farrell (Saracens)
9) Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby)
16) Koree Britton (Gloucester Rugby)
17) Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks)
18) Charlie Matthews (Harlequins)
19) Alex Gray (Newcastle Falcons)
20) Chris Cook (Bath Rugby)
21) George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
22) Ben Ransom (Saracens)

Follow WaspsRugby on Twitter