Ricoh Arena to host Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Final

On Sunday 7th August the Ricoh Arena will host the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series Final, when eight top teams will go head-to-head to battle for the crown.

It promises to be a red hot summer of 7s with rugby's return to the Olympic Games and the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series coming to Coventry. 

The second year of the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series will kick off in Cardiff before visiting Exeter Chiefs, Northampton Saints and Newcastle Falcons with the Series Final at the Ricoh Arena.  

The announcement will not only draw a large crowd to the city and a large television audience but also provides a major boost for the City of Rugby initiative that was launched to establish Coventry as one of the leading cities in the world for the game of rugby. 

David Armstrong, chief executive of Wasps, said: “To have some of the top rugby stars playing fast and exciting 7s rugby at the Ricoh Arena is fantastic news, and helps the city with its aim to be a leading city of rugby.

“Holding these types of events in Coventry can only help to develop interest in the game and driving up participation, whether that’s playing, coaching or volunteering.

“The final promises to have a fun, party atmosphere as fans from all over the country will be keen to see how their team is shaping up ahead of the first league game.”

Phil Winstanley, Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby, added: “The 7s Series kicked off in 2010 and since then it has become a date to look forward to in the rugby calendar," said the Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby, Phil Winstanley.

“Sevens is at its most high profile this year with its return to the Olympics in Rio and Premiership Rugby continues to lead the way when it comes to club 7s.

“Last year’s final was won with a try in the last second of the final game between Wasps and Newport Gwent Dragons and we can expect this year’s series to be just as exciting.”

Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Schedule

Group A
Date: Friday 22 July
Venue:  BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park

·        Cardiff Blues
·        Newport Gwent Dragons
·        Ospreys
·        Scarlets

Group B
Date: Saturday 23 July
Venue: Sandy Park, Exeter

·        Bath Rugby
·        Exeter Chiefs
·        London Irish/ Promoted Club
·        Wasps

Group C
Date: Friday 29 July
Venue: Franklin’s Gardens, Northampton Saints

·        Gloucester Rugby
·        Harlequins
·        Northampton Saints
·        Saracens

Group D
Date: Saturday 30 July
Venue: Kingston Park, Newcastle

·        Leicester Tigers
·        Newcastle Falcons
·        Sale Sharks
·        Worcester Warriors

Series Final
Date: Sunday 7 August
Venue: Ricoh Arena, Coventry

The Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series is the only event where you can see all 12 Aviva Premiership Rugby clubs in action. 

The 2015 Champions Newport Gwent Dragons will kick off the 2016 series on 22 July as the four Welsh Pro teams go head-to-head in an exciting afternoon of summer derby rugby at BT Sport Cardiff Arms Park.

The series will continue the following day as Exeter Chiefs host a leg at Sandy Park for the first time in the tournament’s history.

A week later, the 7s will return to Franklin’s Gardens on 29 July with the last group action at Kingston Park on 30 July.

Two teams from each group will qualify for the Singha Premiership Rugby 7s Series Final which will see eight teams competing for the 2016 title at the Ricoh Arena, Coventry on Sunday, 7 August. 

2016/17 Season Members can attend the Final for free and tickets will be at Earlybird prices throughout the month of May. Tickets are now on sale here