A league Match Report: Wasps A lose out to strong Exeter Braves side

Exeter Braves put in a dominant display to win 47-0 against Wasps A on Monday night.

Wasps found themselves 21-0 down at half time after scores from Ben White, Tom Hendrickson and Haydn Thomas had converted Exeter’s possession into points.

After the break things didn’t get any better for Wasps as Hendrickson ran in his second try, alongside Exeter try scorers Stuart Townsend, Pete Laverick and captain Kai Horstmann.

Despite the heavy scoreline there were some some fine individual efforts from some of Wasps' younger players. The standout being Jack Willis, captaining his second A League game, the number seven was monumental at the breakdown and seemed to be everywhere in attack and defence.

After the game coach Matt Davies said: “It was obviously a pretty disappointing result in terms of the scoreboard and it hurts to concede so many points, but individually there were some very good performances.

“Jack Willis was outstanding throughout, Guy Thompson worked incredibly hard and put his body on the line for the team. Alex Lundberg came back into the team really nicely.

“It was great to see some of the younger players getting a run-out. Ehize Ehizode played well and Tom Willis came of the bench and for an Under 17 did well in testing circumstances. It is a vital part of both of their learning cycles that they take something from these kind of games.

“We can’t get away from the fact that losing by 47 points to nil isn’t acceptable at any level and we need to have a good look as to why that happened.” 

Wasps A
15. Josh Bassett
14. Sailosi Tagicakibau
13. Ben Jacobs
12. James Downey
11. Brendan Macken
10. Alex Lozowski
9. Craig Hampson
1. Alex Lundberg
2. Edd Shervington
3. Phil Swainston
4. Marcus Garrett
5. Ehize Ehizode
6. Sam Jones
7. Jack Willis (c)
8. Guy Thompson 

16. George Edgson
17. Tom West
18. Cecil McCarthy
19. Tom Willis
0. Will Wilson
21. Jamie Stevenson
22. Connor Eastgate
23. Owain James

Exeter Braves
15. Chrysander Botha
14. Max Bodilly
3. Pete Laverick
12. Tom Hendrickson
11. Matt Jess
10. Will Hooley
9. Haydn Thomas
1. Brett Sturgess
2. Elvis Taione
3. Jack Owlett
4. Lewis Stevenson
5. Sam Skinner
6. Tom Johnson
7. Ben White
8. Kai horstmann (c)

16. Shaun Malton
17. Jake Woolmore
18. Elliott Roofe
19. Ed Holmes
20. Sam Simmonds
21. Stuart Townsend
22. Ted Landry
23. Harrison Cully