Wasps A to play London Irish A

Wasps have announced their squad to play London Irish A in the second round of the Aviva ‘A’ League at Hazelwood tonight, kick-off 19:30.

Wasps have named a strong side to take on London Irish in tonight's Aviva A League fixture. Entry to tonight’s match at Hazelwood (TW16 6QU) is £5. 

Matt Davies has named a largely unchanged team from the side that lost 28-38 to Harlequins A in the opening round.

Senior Academy players Tom West, George Edgson and Will Stuart make up an all-under-21 front row.

James Cannon and Wasps U18s and Henley College schoolboy Jacob Turner make up the second-row, with first team back row players Alex Rieder, Thomas Young and Guy Thompson completing the forward pack.

In the backs, Irish duo James Downey and Brendan Macken combine in the centres, as Josh Bassett and Senior Academy players Owain James and Conor Dolan are named in the back three.

Former London Scottish scrum-half Jamie Stevenson teams up with Alex Lozowski as the half-back partnership.

Current U18s Connor Eastgate and Matt Ilube are named among the replacements, alongside Senior Academy players Jack Willis and Tom Bliss. 

London Irish have also named a competitive side with ex-Wasp Dom Waldouck combining with other senior members of the first team squad including Christian Lewis-Pratt, Geoff Cross and Tom Cruse.

A League coach Matt Davies said: “We have a good blend of both senior and academy players in the team for tonight. It is another opportunity for all of the players to demonstrate what they can do and to push themselves forward for further selection.” 

Wasps 'A' to play London Irish 'A' at Hazelwood on Monday 21 December, kick off 19:30.
15. Owain James
14. Conor Dolan
13. Brendan Macken
12. James Downey
11. Josh Bassett
10. Alex Lozowski
9. Jamie Stevenson
1. Tom West 
2. George Edgson
3. Will Stuart
4. James Cannon (C)
5. Jacob Turner
6. Alex Rieder
7. Thomas Young 
8. Guy Thompson 
16. Lewis Grinsell
17. Camilo Parilli-Ocampo
18. Bertie Hoskins
19. Jack Willis  
20. Will Wilson
21. Tom Bliss
22. Connor Eastgate
23. Matt Ilube
London Irish team
15. Tom Halse
14. Joe Cokanasiga
13. Dominic Waldouck
12. Ross Neal
11. Christian Lewis-Pratt
10. Theo Brophy Clews
9. Connor Murphy
1. Johnny Harris
2. Tom Cruse
3. Geoff Cross
4. Ollie Curry
5. Stephen Gardiner
6. Luke Frost
7. Jarrod leat
8. Tom McDonald
16. Curtis Langdon
17. Harry Elrington
18. Joe Tarant
19. Theo Vukasinovic
20. Austin Hay
21. Callum Watson
22. Connor Hayhow
23. Sam Evans