Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Two Wasps start for England Saxons

Elliot Daly and Joe Simpson will both start for England Saxons in Saturday’s match against the O2 Ireland Wolfhounds at Kingsholm (5pm, live on Sky Sports HD1).

The team announced today sees Daly start at fullback and Simpson at scrumhalf.

The team also sees seven starting debuts at this level: wing Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), centre Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs), prop Alex Waller (Northampton Saints), hooker Jamie George (Saracens), lock Charlie Matthews and flanker Luke Wallace (both Harlequins), and No. 8 Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs).

Joe Lydon, RFU Head of International Player Development, said “Players can make an immediate step from the Saxons into the senior side but we’re also looking at the development of those players with the longer term potential to push for places in England’s World Cup squads in 2015, 2019 and beyond.

“First and foremost, though, we want to win against the Wolfhounds and Scotland A. The recent history of these games tells us it will be hard work against two fiercely competitive teams.”

England Saxons

15 Elliot Daly (Wasps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)
13 Matt Hopper (Harlequins)
12 Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs)
11 Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby)
10 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby)
9 Joe Simpson (Wasps)
1 Alex Waller (Northampton Saints)
2 Jamie George (Saracens)
3 Tom Mercey (Northampton Saints)
4 Charlie Matthews (Harlequins)
5 George Kruis (Saracens)
6 Calum Clark (Northampton Saints, captain)
7 Luke Wallace (Harlequins)
8 Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs)


16 Dave Ward (Harlequins)
17 Nathan Catt (Bath Rugby)
18 Scott Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)
19 Elliott Stooke (Gloucester Rugby)
20 Sam Dickinson (Northampton Saints)
21 Dave Lewis (Exeter Chiefs)
22 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs)
23 Rob Miller (Sale Sharks)