Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Wasps team to play Viadana

Director of Rugby Dai Young has named his side to face Viadana this Sunday at Adams Park, kick off 2pm.

Having already qualified for the knockout stages of the Amlin Challenge Cup after an impressive victory over Bayonne in France last weekend, Wasps will look to retain their unbeaten record in the group stages against Viadana this Sunday.

The side sees five changes to the side that played last Saturday, with three of those changes coming in the backline and two in the pack.

In the backs, Joe Carlisle starts at flyhalf, Josh Bassett gets a start on the wing and Andrew Suniula starts in the centres, in the place of Andy Goode, Will Helu and Charlie Hayter respectively.

One of the changes in the pack is in the front row, with Simon McIntyre starting at loosehead in place of Matt Mullan. The other is at lock, where Tom Palmer starts in the place of Joe Launchbury.

Ahead of the final pool stage game of the Amlin Challenge Cup, Dai Young said “Sunday’s game is all about retaining our 100% record in the pool stages. We want to qualify as high up the seeding as we can and, having scored 90 points against Viadana in Italy in round one of this competition, we will be looking for another bonus point victory this weekend.”

Wasps team to play Viadana

15. Elliot Daly
14. Josh Bassett
13. Chris Bell (c)
12. Andrew Suniula
11. Tom Varndell
10. Joe Carlisle
9. Charlie Davies
1. Simon McIntyre
2. Tom Lindsay
3. Phil Swainston
4. Tom Palmer
5. Kearnan Myall
6. Ashley Johnson
7. Guy Thompson
8. Sam Jones

16. Carlo Festuccia
17. Taione Vea
18. Will Taylor
19. Esteban Lozada
20. Ed Jackson
21. Joe Simpson
22. Andy Goode
23. Will Helu

Rugby Viadana Team
15. Marco Antonio Gennari
14. Nicola Sintich
13. Daniel Rudolf Yakopo
12. Giorgio Tizzi
11. Gianmarco Amadasi
10. Juan Pablo Sanchez
9. Pietro Travagli
1. Giulio Cenedese
2. Antonio Denti
3. Paddy Ryan
4. Matteo Minari (C)
5. Joubert Prinsloo Horn
6. Federico Manuini
7. Andrea Denti
8. Mirko Monfrino

16. Luca Bigi
17. Luca Marchini
18. Daniele Greco
19. Marco Pelizzari
20. Liviu Pascu
21. Khyam Steven Apperley-Iti
22. Keanu John Apperley-Iti
23. Riccardo Pavan