Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Young looking for a reaction in Reading

Dai Young has made eight changes to the team who will run out against London Irish tomorrow in the Aviva Premiership (KO 15:00)

Wade returns to the wing

Wade returns to the wing

Christian Wade returns to the side to take his place on the wing, and on the opposite wing, Will Helu makes his first Premiership start, fresh from international duty where he scored a try for Tonga against Wales last weekend.

James Haskell, Sam Jones and Guy Thompson make up the back row with Ashley Johnson and Nathan Hughes both ruled out with injury.

Jake Cooper-Woolley comes back into the side to replace Phil Swainston in the front row and he is joined by Carlo Festuccia and Matt Mullan.

Charlie Davies, Joe Launchbury and Charlie Hayter take places in the starting 15, while Joe Simpson, Tom Palmer and Ben Jacobs fill spots on the bench.

Taione Vea also comes onto the bench, where he is primed to make his first Premiership appearance, following his international stint with Tonga in recent weeks.

Young said: “We are facing a good attacking team this weekend who will challenge us defensively. They have quality players and they play an attractive game. They are in a similar position to us, in that their forwards came second best last week, so you will have two packs who will be wanting to put the record straight and perform much better.”

“We need a platform to play and we need our kicking game to be much better than last week. There has been a good reaction out on the training park from the team but we are looking for a reaction on the pitch too, in both attitude and quality.”

London Wasps side to face London Irish, Saturday, November 30th (KO 15.00)
15 Elliot Daly
14 Christian Wade
13 Chris Bell
12 Charlie Hayter
11 Will Helu
10 Andy Goode
9 Charlie Davies
1 Matt Mullan
2 Carlo Festuccia
3 Jake Cooper-Woolley
4 Joe Launchbury
5 Kearnan Myall
6 James Haskell
7 Guy Thompson
8 Sam Jones
16 Neil Cochrane
17 Simon McIntyre
18 Taione Vea
19 Tom Palmer
20 Ed Jackson
21 Joe Simpson
22 Joe Carlisle
23 Ben Jacobs