Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Haskell to captain Wasps in first LV=Cup clash

James Haskell will captain London Wasps in this Friday night’s LV=Cup game against Saracens at Adams Park (KO 19.30)

Haskell leads a much changed Wasps line-up which combines a mix of experience and youth for the first LV=Cup game of the season.

Up front Ricky Reeves, Tom Lindsay and Will Taylor form the front row, while there’s an experienced second row partnership of Tom Palmer and James Cannon. Guy Thompson makes his first appearance at number 8 for the Club with Haskell and Matt Everard on the flank.

The backline features Elliot Daly starting at outside centre for the first time this season, while Jonah Holmes returns temporarily from his loan spell at Leeds Carnegie to start on the wing.

The London Wasps bench includes Alex Lundberg, the 18-year-old prop who joined Wasps as a six-year-old and who has come through the Club ranks and into the current Academy. He is set to make his first ever appearance for the senior side.

Director of Rugby Dai Young said: “As you can see from our squad, we don’t have the kind of depth to treat this competition as a development tool, even if we wanted to, so we’ve got a good mix of experience in there. There are guys who needed a rest this week and guys who really needed game time so it’s a balancing act for us. Saracens are probably one of the toughest team in this competition given the depth and quality of their squad and this is going to be a real challenge.”

To secure your place at this Friday's game click here.

London Wasps Team:
15 - Tommy Bell
14 - Jonah Homes
13 - Elliot Daly
12 - Charlie Hayter
11 - Josh Bassett
10 - Joe Carlisle
9 - Charlie Davies
1 - Ricky Reeves
2 - Tom Lindsay
3 - Will Taylor
4 - Tom Palmer
5 - James Cannon
6 - James Haskell (Captain)
7 - Matt Everard
8 - Guy Thompson

16 - Neil Cochrane
17 - Alex Lunderg
18 - Phil Swainston
19 - Esteban Lozada
20 - Sam Jones
21 - Jack Moates
22 - Ben Jacobs
23 - Tom Howe

Saracens starting XV; 15; Ben Ransom; 14. Michael Tagicakibau, 13. Tim Streather, 12. Nick Tompkins, 11. Jack Wilson; 10. Nils Mordt ©, 9. Ben Spencer; 1. Richard Barrington, 2. Jared Saunders, 3. Petrus Du Plessis, 4. George Kruis, 5. Mouritz Botha, 6. Justin Melck, 7. Will Fraser, 8. Jackson Wray.
Replacements; 6. Max Crumpton, 17. Nick Auterac, 18. Biyi Alo, 19. Eoin Sheriff, 20. Matt Hankin, 21. Neil de Kock, 22. Charlie Hodgson, 23. James Short.