Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Wade to win first cap

Christian Wade will win his first cap for England against Argentina this weekend.

The Wasps wing joins Worcester Warriors flanker Matt Kvesic in making his Test debut against the Pumas at the Estadio Padre Ernesto Martearena in Salta on Saturday (20:10 BST).

Three more players – Bath Rugby centre Kyle Eastmond, Sale Sharks prop Henry Thomas and London Wasps back row forward Billy Vunipola – will also win their first caps if they come off the replacements bench.

Joe Launchbury is named in the second row.

Elsewhere fly half Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby), hooker Rob Webber (Bath Rugby) and lock Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby) all start a full international for the first time.

Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “It is great to have so many young players pushing through and to be able to give them their opportunities on this tour. It is a young England side but one with a great deal of ability and self-belief and it will be great to see how they perform in the intensity of Test match rugby.

“Facing Argentina in front of their home crowd in Salta will be a tough challenge but we are looking forward to it and I am sure the players will give their all for the shirt.”

Watch Stuart Lancaster discuss England’s team selection on

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 16 caps)
14 Christian Wade (Wasps, uncapped)
13 Jonathan Joseph (London Irish, 4 caps)
12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 4 caps)
11 David Strettle (Saracens, 13 caps)
10 Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby, 1 cap)
9 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 7 caps)
1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 10 caps)
2 Rob Webber (Bath Rugby, 3 caps)
3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 26 caps)
4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 9 caps)
5 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 2 caps)
6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 18 caps, captain)
7 Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors, uncapped)
8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 10 caps)

16 David Paice (London Irish, 6 caps)
17 Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)
18 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks, uncapped)
19 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 20 caps)
20 Billy Vunipola (London Wasps, uncapped)
21 Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens, 12 caps)
22 Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
23 Ben Foden (Northampton Saints, 30 caps)