Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Dai Young nominated for QBE Director of Rugby award

London Wasps Director of Rugby Dai Young has been nominated for one of the top awards to be presented at the Premiership Rugby End of Season Awards Dinner.

Young's nomination for QBE Director of Rugby of the Season award, recognises the strong role he has played in steering London Wasps to a much improved season, with the side having come from one point away from relegation last season to top six challengers this term.

Wasps rose to fourth in the Aviva Premiership earlier this year but will now have to settle for eighth following a difficult run-in.

The winner will be announced by Premiership Rugby at a glittering ceremony on 9 May at the London Hiton, Park Lane. The event is now sold out.

"Aviva Premiership Rugby is fortunate to have some of the best coaches in the world working for our 12 clubs," said Phil Winstanley the Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby.

"This is good news for the League but made the choice of selecting the shortlist very difficult indeed and it is a credit to all four of these coaches that they made it onto the list.

"If you look at the list of previous winners you will see a who's who of rugby coaching so the winner will be stepping into some very big shoes."

The shortlist is:
Mark McCall - Saracens
Richard Cockerill - Leicester Tigers
Dai Young - London Wasps
Lyn Jones - London Welsh

The shortlist was compiled by a panel of media professionals – Miles Harrison (Sky Sports), Alastair Eykyn (BBC 5 Live), Jill Douglas (Freelance), Stephen Jones (Sunday Times), Nick Mullins (ESPN), Adam Hathaway (Chairman of the Rugby Writers' Club and Sunday People), Hugh Godwin (The Independent and Independent on Sunday), David Rogers (Getty Images), and Alan Pearey (Rugby World). They were joined by Phil Winstanley (Rugby Director at Premiership Rugby) and Paul Morgan (Premiership Rugby’s Communication Director) who chaired the panel.

Previous Winners: Directors of Rugby of the Season
2011/12 – Rob Baxter (Exeter Chiefs)
2010/11 - Jim Mallinder (Northampton Saints)
2009/10 - Andy Key (Leeds Carnegie)
2008/09 - Richard Cockerill (Leicester Tigers)
2007/08 - Dean Ryan (Gloucester Rugby)
2006/07 - Pat Howard (Leicester Tigers)
2005/06 - Philippe Saint-Andre (Sale Sharks)
2004/05 - John Wells (Leicester Tigers)
2003/04 - John Connolly (Bath Rugby)
2002/03 – Warren Gatland (London Wasps)
2001/02 - Conor O'Shea and Brendan Venter (London Irish)
2000/01 - Dean Richards (Leicester Tigers)
1999/2000 – Andy Robinson (Bath Rugby)