Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Wasps side to face Leicester

London Wasps Director of Rugby Dai Young has named his side to face Leicester Tigers this Sunday, kick off 15:45 (live on Sky).

Chris Bell, who captains the side

Chris Bell, who captains the side

Following a very demanding schedule over the last few weeks, there are a number of players who are unavailable for this weekend’s trip to Welford Road. Those who have been ruled out include Marco Wentzel (shoulder), Hugo Southwell (knee), Stephen Jones (achilles), Sam Jones (neck, T Rhys Thomas (glute), Phil Swainston (knee) and Tim Payne (neck).

Charlie Hayter

Charlie Hayter

Joe Launchbury and Andrea Masi are both rested following a busy 6 Nations and domestic schedule in the last few weeks.

Director of Rugby Dai Young said, “We’ve had an incredibly tough run of games in recent weeks and because of that we have a squad that are quite battered and have a number of guys who are not quite right for this weekend.”

“We know how tough it is to go to Welford Road and get a result but this is the first of three very important games for us in the chase for a top six finish.”

London Wasps team to play Leicester Tigers at Welford Road

15. Elliot Daly
14. Christian Wade
13. Chris Bell (c)
12. Charlie Hayter
11. Tom Varndell
10. Nick Robinson
9. Charlie Davies

1. Zak Taulafo
2. Tom Lindsay
3. Will Taylor
4. James Cannon
5. Tom Palmer
6. Ashley Johnson
7. Jonathan Poff
8. Billy Vunipola


16. Nathan Morris
17. Simon McIntyre
18. Lorenzo Romano
19. Alex Rae
20. Matt Everard
21. Joe Simpson
22. Tommy Bell
23. Jack Wallace

Leicester Tigers team

15 Mathew Tait
14 Niall Morris
13 Manusamoa Tuilagi
12 Anthony Allen
11 Adam Thompstone
10 Toby Flood (c)
9 Ben Youngs

1 Logovi’i Mulipola
2 Tom Youngs
3 Dan Cole
4 Ed Slater
5 Geoff Parling
6 Tom Croft
7 Julian Salvi
8 Jordan Crane


16 Rob Hawkins
17 Fraser Balmain
18 Martin Castrogiovanni
19 Graham Kitchener
20 Thomas Waldrom
21 Sam Harrison
22 George Ford
23 Matt Smith