Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Team News: London Wasps v London Welsh

Director of Rugby Dai Young has named his side to face London Welsh in the Aviva Premiership, in the Club’s last game of 2012, this Saturday 29th December.

The side named sees four changes to the team that beat Sale Sharks at Adams Park last weekend, with two in the backline and two in the pack.

Tom Varndell comes into the starting line-up, replacing Christian Wade, who misses out after picking up a knock last weekend, while the other change is at fly half, with Nick Robinson starts in the 10 shirt, and Stephen Jones shifting to the bench.

There are also two changes amongst the forwards, with James Cannon earning a start in the second row, and Jonathan Poff given the nod at 7, in the place of James Haskell, who also picked up a knock last Sunday.

There is also one change on the bench, with Sam Jones coming into the squad to replace Jonathan Poff, who is promoted to the starting line-up.

Director of Rugby Dai Young said “London Welsh have impressed everyone this season and this weekend is obviously going to be a very tough game for us. We know that they will provide us with a very stern challenge up front and coming away from the Kassam Stadium with a win is going to require us to be better than we have been in recent weeks.”

“We have made no secret of the fact that, after stringing together a number of wins at Adams Park, what we now want is a win on the road, so we will be doing our utmost this weekend to make that happen.”

London Wasps team to face London Welsh at the Kassam Stadium, Saturday 29 December, kick off 3pm.

15. Hugo Southwell (c)
14. Elliot Daly
13. Andrea Masi
12. Chris Bell
11. Tom Varndell
10. Nick Robinson
9. Joe Simpson

1. Zak Taulafo
2. T Rhys Thomas
3. Phil Swainston
4. Joe Launchbury
5. James Cannon
6. Ashley Johnson
7. Jonathan Poff
8. Billy Vunipola


16. Tom Lindsay
17. Tim Payne
18. Will Taylor
19. Marco Wentzel
20. Sam Jones
21. Charlie Davies
22. Stephen Jones
23. Chris Mayor