Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

London Wasps team to play London Welsh

This Sunday London Wasps host London Welsh at Adams Park in the first ever league meeting between the neighbouring sides.

Dai Young has named an exciting side to take to the field for the fixture, with nine changes to the starting side from last weekend.

In the backline, Joe Simpson starts at scrum half after being rested last weekend, with Nick Robinson outside him at 10. Lee Thomas and Andrea Masi get the nod in the centres, Tom Varndell and Christian Wade start on the wings, with Captain Hugo Southwell at fullback.

The front row has a familiar feel, with Tim Payne at Loosehead, Tom Lindsay starting at Hooker and Zak Taulafo at Tighthead. Vice-Captain Marco Wentzel returns to the second row after his rest last weekend, where he is joined by Joe Launchbury. Billy Vunipola also returns to this weekend’s team, starting at 8, where he is joined in the back row by Ashley Johnson at 6 and James Haskell at 7.

Young said that this weekend’s fixture at Adams Park is a chance for his team to kick on after three wins on the bounce.

“It is well-known that your home games are vitally important in this league and this weekend is no different. We are coming into this game on the back of three wins, albeit two in a different competition, and this is a chance for us to build further on that.”

London Wasps team to play London Welsh at Adams Park this Sunday 28 October, KO 3pm.

15. Hugo Southwell
14. Tom Varndell
13. Andrea Masi
12. Lee Thomas
11. Christian Wade
10. Nick Robinson
9. Joe Simpson
1. Tim Payne
2. Tom Lindsay
3. Zak Taulafo
4. Joe Launchbury
5. Marco Wentzel
6. Ashley Johnson
7. James Haskell
8. Billy Vunipola


16. T Rhys Thomas
17. Phil Swainston
18. Fabio Staibano
19. James Cannon
20. Jonathan Poff
21. Charlie Davies
22. Tommy Bell
23. Elliot Daly

London Welsh

15. Tom Voyce
14. Phil MacKenzie
13. Sonny Parker
12. Seb Jewell
11. Nick Scott
10. Gavin Henson
9. Tyson Keats
1. Franck Montanella
2. Neil Briggs
3. Paulica Ion
4. Martin Purdy
5. Matt Corker
6. Jonathan Mills
7. Michael Hills
8. Ed Jackson


16. Dan George
17. Tom Bristow
18. Arthur Joly
19. Kirill Kulemin
20. Alfie To’oala
21. Nick Runciman
22. James Lewis
23. Joe Ajuwa.