Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

London Wasps announce Academy intake for 2012/13

London Wasps have announced their Academy squad for the 2012/13 season.

Nathan Morris in action for England U20s this summer

Nathan Morris in action for England U20s this summer

Will Robinson in action

Will Robinson in action

Having featured heavily for the first team last year; Elliot Daly, Sam Jones, Billy Vunipola and Joe Launchbury all graduate to the senior squad where they are also joined by Lewis Thiede, who joined the club from Doncaster last season.

Jonah Holmes, Will Robinson, Mitchell Tamiau, Nathan Morris and Alec Hepburn all retain their places in the Academy from last season.

The Academy, supported by Causeway Technologies, will welcome newcomers Harry Williams, Will Bigley, Liam O’Neil and David Hughes, who have primarily come through from the London Wasps Academy Apprenticeship scheme, following in the footsteps of Mitchell Tamiau and Will Robinson, who made the same step up last season.

Gus Jones will also become a full time member of the Academy this year, with the England U18 captain having finished his studies at Eton.

The club also facilitates for an U18 Academy group who, despite being at school, will work with the Academy coaches throughout the season.

This group includes Alec Lundberg, Tom Howe, Shaquille Jack, Ben Wood and Matt Blandford.

With the promotion of Ian Taplin to the senior squad’s Strength and Conditioning team, Keir Wenham-Flatt also steps up to become Head of Academy Strength and Conditioning.

In recent years London Wasps have formed close partnerships with a range of local London clubs, and this relationship continues this year with a number of the Academy players dual registered with London Welsh, London Scottish, Rosslyn Park, Henley and Chinnor allowing the younger players further match time options.

This year Jonah Holmes, Lewis Thiede and Nathan Morris are all dual registered with London Welsh, who gained promotion to the Aviva Premiership this season. Those three will not feature in any games against London Wasps and the Club has the option to recall them to our squad at any time.

Will Robinson retains his links with Rosslyn Park from last season and Mitchell Tamiau will once again train and play at London Scottish having been dual registered with the club last year.

The Academy will be managed once again by Rob Smith assisted by Chris Lloyd with a specific role as Academy Skills Coach.

London Wasps Academy Squad
Nathan Morris
Alec Hepburn
Jonah Holmes
Will Robinson
Mitchell Tamiau
Harry Williams
Will Bigley
Gus Jones
Liam O’Neil
David Hughes
Alec Lundberg (18)
Tom Howe (U18)
Shaquille Jack (U18)
Ben Wood (U18)
Matt Blandford (U18)