Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Sweeping changes for Wasps

There are 10 changes to the London Wasps starting line-up this weekend as Dai Young reverts to his strongest possible side for Sunday’s Aviva Premiership clash with Saracens.

Wasps are aiming to do the double over the reigning champions having beaten them at Twickenham on the opening day of the season.

Into the team this weekend come a raft of players who were rested or unavailable for LV=Cup action including Riki Flutey, Dom Waldouck, Marco Wentzel and Jonathan Poff.

Having made a full return to fitness, fly-half Nick Robinson starts his first game since New Year’s Day.

On the bench capped Welsh youngster Tom Prydie will appear in his first Wasps match-day squad having arrived on loan from the Ospreys last month.

Scrum-half Joe Simpson, who is with England as a non-playing reserve in Italy, will be released from national duties on Saturday night to return to Wasps and he takes his place on the bench in a big boost to the match-day squad.

Young said: “This Sunday begins an important period of four Aviva Premiership games but our focus is fully on taking on an extremely dangerous Saracens side. Even though they are missing some players, they will come to Adams Park pretty confident. They have an excellent squad and I know that players coming in are just as dangerous to an opposition because they want to keep hold of the shirt.”

“For our part I am pleased that we were able to give a number of players a much needed break in the past few weeks and they have come back and put in a really strong week of training. We’re looking forward to this game.”

In other player news - Chris Mayor this week underwent surgery for an injured thumb and is likely to be out of action for up to three months.

To secure your place at the game call 0844 225 2990 or book online here.

London Wasps team to play Saracens, Sunday 12th February, 13.15, Adams Park
15 Hugo Southwell
14 Richard Haughton
13 Dom Waldouck
12 Riki Flutey
11 Elliot Daly
10 Nick Robinson
9 Nic Berry
1 Tim Payne
2 Tom Lindsay
2 Ben Broster
4 Ed O’Donoghue
5 Marco Wentzel ( c)
6 Richard Birkett
7 Jonathan Poff
8 Billy Vunipola
16 Vladislav Korshunov
17 Zak Taulafo
18 Simon McIntyre
19 Heinz Koll
20 Sam Jones
21 Joe Simpson
22 Ryan Davis
23 Tom Prydie

Saracens line-up
15 Alex Goode
14 Duncan Taylor
13 Chris Wyles
12 Adam Powell
11 James Short
10 Nils Mordt
9 Peter Stringer
1 John Smit ©
2 Jamie George
3 Carlos Nieto
4 George Kruis
5 Hayden Smith
6 Justin Melck
7 Andy Saull
8 Jackson Wray
16 Schalk Brits
17 Rhys Gill
18 Petrus du Plessis
19 Hugh Vyvyan
20 Will Fraser
21 Neil de Kock
22 Joel Tomkins
23 Michael Tagicakibau