Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Team News: Wasps v Bordeaux Begles

Milestones for Wasps duo

Dai Young has made four changes to the starting side for this Sunday’s Amlin Challenge Cup pool decider against Bordeaux Begles at Adams Park. (KO 15.00)

This weekend’s fixture will see Richard Birkett and Tim Payne both reach significant personal milestone with Birkett playing his 250th game for the Club and Payne appearing in his 50th European game for Wasps.

In the backs, the changes see Dom Waldouck come in for Riki Flutey, who is ruled out with a muscle strain, and Joe Simpson starts at scrum-half in the place of Nic Berry who shifts to the bench.

In the pack, Birkett starts in the second-row while Matt Everard also gets a starting spot at openside with Jonathan Poff moving to the blindside.

After beating Rovigo last weekend with a bonus point, any kind of win for the hosts this weekend will put them through to the quarter final stages of the competition.

Wasps currently sit two points ahead of Bayonne in the group.

Young said “We have put ourselves in a strong position in terms of the pool standings going into this weekend and our fate is now in our own hands. Bordeaux are not to be under-estimated though as since we played them in November they’ve had some superb results in the French league and they have a pool of quality players right throughout their squad.”

Young also congratulated Birkett and Payne on their achievements.

“I would also like to congratulate two of our long-serving players who are reaching significant milestones this weekend. Richard and Tim are leaders within this group and their experience are hugely beneficial to the squad. They deserve all the praise they will get for their efforts in Wasps colours.”

London Wasps team

15 Hugo Southwell
14 Richard Haughton
13 Elliot Daly
12 Dom Waldouck
11 Jack Wallace
10 Ryan Davis
9 Joe Simpson
1 Tim Payne
2 Rob Webber
3 Ben Broster
4 Richard Birkett
5 Marco Wentzel (c)
6 Jonathan Poff
7 Matt Everard
8 Sam Jones


16 Tom Lindsay
17 Zak Taulafo
18 Jeremy Castex
19 Joe Burton
20 James Harris
21 Nic Berry
22 Charlie Davies
23 Chris Mayor