Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

Wasps annouce Academy squad for 2011/12

London Wasps have announced their Academy squad for the 2011/12 season.

Jack Wallace

Jack Wallace

After successful seasons last year Christian Wade and Jack Wallace graduate from last year’s Academy and take up their place in the first team squad.

Christian Wade

Christian Wade

Jonah Holmes, Chris Elder, Sam Jones and Joe Launchbury will all enjoy their second year in the Academy, retaining their places.

Elliot Daly, Billy Vunipola and Nathan Morris become full time members of the Academy this year, having finished their studies at Whitgift, Harrow and Sedburgh respectively.

The Academy, supported by Causeway Technologies, will welcome Will Robinson and Mitchel Tamiau, who both graduate from the AASE scheme, along with Lewis Thiede who signs from Doncaster.

Sam Northcote Green becomes a part-time member of the Academy, taking the option to start his studies at University. Sam will train at the club during University holiday periods and will be dual-registered with Blaydon RFC.

In recent years Wasps have formed a close partnerships with local clubs London Scottish and Rosslyn Park. London Scottish gained promotion to the Championship in season 2010/11 and Rosslyn Park continue in National 1 after strong performances throughout last season. The relationship between Wasps and Scottish continues this year with seven of the Academy squad dual registered with the two clubs. Elliot Daly, Jonah Holmes, Sam Jones, Joe Launchbury, Mitchel Tamiau, Lewis Thiede and Billy Vunipola will all be dual registered, allowing them to train and play with Wasps with further match time options at London Scottish

At Rosslyn Park, Will Robinson and Nathan Morris are dual registered, with Chris Elder dual registered with Henley Hawks providing all these young developing players with good opportunities for quality match time outside of Wasps.

The club also hopes to retain Joe Burton within the Academy squad and are currently discussing loan-club options with various clubs.

Academy 2011/12
Joe Burton
Elliot Daly
Chris Elder
Alec Hepburn
Jonah Holmes
Sam Jones
Joe Launchbury
Nathan Morris
Sam Northcote Green (part time)
Will Robinson
Mitchell Tamiau
Lewis Thiede
Billy Vunipola
Follow WaspsRugby on Twitter