Click to skip to content
Return to the London Wasps home page

World Championships semi for Wasps trio

Three Wasps players have named in the squad to face France in the semi-finals of the Junior World Championships.

Three Wasps players have named in the squad to face France in the semi-finals of the Junior World Championships on Wednesday, June 22, kick off 5.00pm (UK time). The game will be shown live on Sky Sports 4.

England beat France 19-8 in this season's Six Nations campaign at Worcester's Sixways Stadium, and will need to produce a similar display against an on form French side who beat Australia 31-25 in the final round of Pool matches.

Joe Launchbury and Christian Wade are both in the starting line-up to face France after inspirational performances in the last round of group-stage games while Sam Jones is named on the bench.

Elliot Daly is rested after picking up a slight knock in the last game but should be fit if England reach the final.

Christian Wade has earned his second start of the tournament after a hat-trick against Scotland and an impressive display off of the bench including a remarkable solo try against South Africa.

Joe Launchbury has retained his starting place in the side having been one of the stand-out performers for England so far in the competition.

Sam Jones is unlucky to miss out on a starting spot after great displays in the group stages but will look to make an impact from the bench.

England U20 starting XV v France:

15 Ben Ransom (Saracens)
14 Jonathan Joseph (London Irish)
13 Guy Armitage (London Irish)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens)
11 Christian Wade (London Wasps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers)
9 Chris Cook (Bath Rugby)
1 Mako Vunipola Saracens
2 Mikey Haywood (Northampton Saints)
3 Will Collier (Harlequins)
4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)
5 Charlie Matthews (Harlequins)
6 Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors)
7 Matt Everard (Leicester Tigers)
8 Alex Gray (C) (Newcastle Falcons)


16 Rob Buchanan (Harlequins)
17 Ryan Bower (Leicester Tigers)
18 Sam Twomey (Harlequins)
19 Sam Jones (London Wasps)
20 Dan Robson (Gloucester Rugby)
21 Ryan Mills (Gloucester Rugby)
22 Marland Yarde (London Irish)

Follow WaspsRugby on Twitter