Return to the London Wasps home page
A League Match Report

26 Nov 2012: Wasps A League v Exeter Chiefs

Please use the buttons below to see more information.

Match Report
Wasps's Badge Wasps 7
Exeter's Badge Exeter Chiefs 49
Fixture Type: Aviva A League Venue: Away
Match Date: Mon 26 Nov 2012, Kick Off: 19:30

Wasps A go down fighting at Dry Leas

London Wasps A 7 - 49 Exeter Braves

London Wasps A endured a tough night on Monday against a revered and well-versed Exeter Braves side, who put seven tries past the hosts.

Exeter got their first score of the evening after just a minute when Chris Budgen went over under the posts after a period of pressure from the visitors. Henry Slade added the extras to put Exeter into an early seven point lead.

Exeter were penalised immediately from the restart and Will Robinson opted for the posts for the chance to bring the deficit to 3 but he was unsuccessful from out wide to the right and the score remained 7-0 to the visitors.

Exeter returned to the attack and moved into the Wasps 22 with some good attacking play. That pressure soon told and Justin Blanchett went over for his side’s second try of the night with 7 minutes on the clock. Slade added the extra 2 and Exeter were in a strong 14-0 lead.

The visitors’ third try soon followed with Will Carrick-Smith went over in the left corner. Slade once again added the two points to make the score London Wasps A 0 – 21 Exeter Braves.

Wasps then showed some real determination to pull themselves back into things, stringing together some encouraging phases of play. Wasps were awarded a penalty and Will Robinson pushed the home side deep into Exeter 22.

However, Exeter turned the ball over at a breakdown and broke through. It looked like another score was on the cards but Liam O’Neil showed some great pace to race back, make the tackle, bounce back onto his feet and contest for the ball, winning his side a much-needed penalty and a chance to clear.

Wasps then kept hold of the ball and once again looked encouraging in attack. Another penalty to the home side saw Robinson kick deep into the 22 where Wasps set up a good driving maul from the lineout. Wasps powered over from 10 metres out to score their first try of the evening, with Andy Cannock claiming the spoils from the back of the maul. Robinson nailed the conversion from the right touchline. London Wasps A 7 – 21 Exeter.

Wasps immediately returned to the attack, looking encouraged by that first score. That didn’t last however, as Exeter soon got their hands on the ball, having kept the Wasps attack out and swiftly moved into the Wasps 22 following some good handling.

Exeter once again showed their clinical edge, scoring their fourth try of the evening, Sam Simmonds with the score. Slade was characteristically faultless with the conversion and Exeter moved into a 28-7 lead.

Shortly before half time Exeter scored their fifth try following another sustained period of pressure. Having been camped deep within the Wasps 22 for a prolonged period, Exeter eventually made the most of that pressure when Blanchett went over. Slade added the extras once again and Exeter finished the first half with a 35 point to 7 lead.

Wasps made a number of changes at half time, with Lewis Theide, Nathan Morris, Will Taylor and Andy Cannock off, being replaced by Ross Grimstone, Will Bigley, Harry Williams and Tommy Spinks.

Exeter started the second half in the same way as they did the first, on the attack deep within the Wasps 22, putting a lot of pressure on the Wasps defence. Exeter went close to scoring but were held up and were awarded a scrum 5 metres out from the line. The Wasps defence did well from that scrum, holding out the attack and turning the ball over. Robinson cleared and Will Jones Chased well, hacking the ball on, but he was unable to control the ball and it dribbled into touch.

Wasps regrouped and started to look a lot better in attack with Robinson, O’Neil and Brookes all looking lively with the ball in hand. Just as the home side looked to have found their rythmn Exeter pounced on a telegraphed pass and intercepted. They looked likely to run the length but Chris Mayor showed some good pace and a lot of determination to race back and make a great tackle. He then bounced up to his feet and competed for the ball, winning his side a much-needed penalty and a chance to clear.

Exeter were forced to wait until the 60th minute for their next score. The visitors reasserted some of their first half dominance, turning the ball over and looking dangerous once again in attack. Exeter moved swiftly into the hosts’ 22 and Simmonds was on the end of a good move to get his second of the night. Slade’s conversion gave the Braves a 42-7 lead.

James Comben left the field, to be replaced by Robbie Shaw.

Exeter came very close to scoring another soon after, camping deep within the 22 for an extended length of time, but the Wasps defence held out well under some serious pressure, winning a penalty in the shadow of the posts and Robinson was able to clear well with about 10 minutes to play.

Chris Mayor was then replaced by Alex Harrison.

Exeter were able to grab a final score before the final whistle, Will Carrick-Smith getting his second of the night when he got on the end of some good attacking play from the Braves. Myles Dorrian took over the kicking duties from Henry Slade, who had left the field, and was similarly unfaltering, making no mistake and taking the score to London Wasps A 7 – 42 Exeter Braves, and that was how things stayed until the final whistle.

London Wasps A

15 Liam O'Neill
14 Jonah Holmes
13 Jack Wallace
12 Chris Mayor
11 Will Jones
10 Will Robinson
9 Jordan Brookes
1 Lewis Thiede
2 Nathan Morris
3 Will Taylor
4 Dave Hughes
5 Andy Cannock
6 Derek Asbun
7 Matt Everard (Captain)
8 Tinus Du Plessis

16 Ross Grimstone
17 Will Bigley
18 Harry Williams
19 Tommy Spinks
20 Emeka Ilogu
21 Robbie Shaw
22 James Comben
23 Alex Harrison

Exeter Chiefs

15 Myles Dorrian
14 Josh Tatupu
13 Nic Sestaret
12 Ian Whitten
11 Mark Foster
10 Henry Slade
9 Junior Poluleuligaga (Captain)
1 Luke Cowan-Dickie
2 Neil Clark
3 Chris Budgen
4 Damian Welch
5 Will Carrick-Smith
6 Justin Blanchet
7 Sam Simmonds
8 Joel Conlon

16 Jack Yeandle
17 Lloyd Fairbrother
18 Alex Brown
19 Jamie Gray
20 Matt Bolwell
21 Rob Coote
22 Sam Hill
23 Jack Arnott