Return to the London Wasps home page
Match Report

16 Jan 2011: Wasps v Glasgow Warriors

Please use the buttons below to see more information on Glasgow Warriors and matches between Wasps and Glasgow over the years.

Match Report
Glasgow's Badge Glasgow Warriors 20
Wasps's Badge Wasps 10
Fixture Type: Heineken Cup Venue: Firhill
Match Date: Sun 16 Jan 2011, Kick Off: 13:00
Referee: James Jones Assistant Referee: David Bodilly
TV Match Official: Gareth Simmonds Assistant Referee: Alan Jenkins

Wasps fall short at Firhill


After taking an early lead through a fine try by Tom Varndell, Wasps slipped to a disappointing defeat against a determined Glasgow side who were deserved victors. The result ensured that Toulouse are the winners of pool 6 of the Heineken Cup even before next weekend’s final games. The result left Wasps six points behind the French side and they would need to beat them and for other results to go their way if they are to have any chance of being one of the two second-placed side to reach the last eight.

The home side got off to an impressive start after controlling Dave Walder’s kickoff. They spread the ball wide and put the Wasps defence on the back foot, eventually finding their way into the 22 where they were rewarded with a penalty with just over a minute played and fly half Ruaridh Jackson was on target to give them the lead.

Wasps responded well and an incisive burst by Tom Varndell looked promising before he lost his footing on the heavy surface. In the sixth minute Glasgow were penalised for not releasing a few metres inside their own half. Dave Walder sent his 47-metre kick sailing through the posts to level the scores.

In the 12th minute Wasps went ahead through a magnificent try to Varndell created by Joe Simpson. The scrumhalf broke from a scrum near halfway. His explosive pace took him into the 22 before he sent a perfectly weighted long pass out wide which Varndell came on to at pace to go over in the corner for his fourth try in four pool games. Walder added the conversion with a fine kick.

Jackson’s second penalty, three minutes later, narrowed the gap to 10-6. Another Simpson run set up a promising position just outside the Glasgow 22 but Serge Betsen knocked on with the backs lined up outside him.

Glasgow turned down a kick at the posts to set up a lineout near the corner. After the forwards drove for the line the ball was then moved out wide but the Wasps defence forced them back and they eventually knocked on just inside the 22.

The home side continued to show their aggression and attacking intent and Wasps were made to put in a series of tackles with Joe Worsley and Serge Betsen coming to the fore. Wasps eventually set up an attacking chance of their own when they forced Glasgow back twenty metres to win a scrum just outside the 22. Simpson broke wide to the right and the ball was then moved back infield where Tom Lindsay took a pass at pace but was then penalised for not releasing.

With three minutes of the half left Walder sent a long-range penalty just under the bar from two metres inside the Glasgow half and five metres in from touch. In the final minute Wasps built up a patient attack which made 30 metres but James Cannon could not hold Simpson’s sharp pass and halftime came with the Men in Black and Gold still having plenty of work to do to claim the win they needed.

Three minutes into the second half Wasps conceded a penalty at a ruck on their 22, right in front of the posts and Jackson had the simplest of tasks to narrow the gap to a single point. The Glasgow pack was putting considerable pressure on at the scrum making it hard for Wasps to control their own ball at the back.

After 49 minutes a promising Wasps attack broke down when possession was spilt a few metres inside the Glasgow half. The home side pounced on the loose ball to race downfield and winger Colin Shaw sent scrumhalf Colin Gregor over for a try to put his side 14-10 ahead. Jackson missed the straightforward conversion.

Wasps then made their first two replacements of the day with Zak Taulafo and James Cannon making way for Ben Broster and Richard Birkett.

With their quarterfinal chances now under serious threat Wasps were struggling to achieve any fluency against a determined Glasgow side. All too often their attacks would end with handling errors, turnovers, penalties and forward passes. With 16 minutes left Jackson was just short with a long-range penalty, but he then had a second chance from the other side of the field when Wasps were penalised for a high tackle following a quick dropout. This time he made no mistake with a kick which made Wasps’ task even harder.

Marty Veale, Charlie Beech and Michael Mayhew came on for Serge Betsen, Tim Payne and Tom Lindsay but things got worse for Wasps as they conceded another penalty at the breakdown, 30 metres out. Luckily for them Jackson’s kick hit the left upright. Richard Haughton then took the place of Mark Van Gisbergen as the game entered its last ten minutes. Haughton was immediately in the action, leaping high to take a hoisted kick and make a mark under intense pressure. He took the kick quickly and made 20 metres but his next action was to go back to gather a long kick towards the corner, and then throw a wild pass towards Varndell, which went over the dead ball line giving Glasgow a five metre scrum.

Before that scrum went down skipper Ben Jacobs left the field with Dom Waldouck coming on in his place. Glasgow won the ball, controlled possession well, and set up the perfect possession for Jackson to drop the goal, which finally killed off Wasps’ chances of winning the pool.

Wasps complete their pool programme next Sunday when they face reigning champions Toulouse at Adams Park.

Wasps team
15 Mark Van Gisbergen
14 Tom Varndell
13 Ben Jacobs (c)
12 Riki Flutey
11 David Lemi
10 Dave Walder
9 Joe Simpson
1 Tim Payne
2 Tom Lindsay
3 Zak Taulafo
4 Simon Shaw
5 James Cannon
6 Joe Worsley
7 Serge Betsen
8 Andy Powell


16 Michael Mayhew
17 Charlie Beech
18 Ben Broster
19 Marty Veale
20 Richard Birkett
21 Nic Berry
22 Dominic Waldouck
23 Richard Haughton

15 Bernardo Stortoni

14 Colin Shaw
13 Federico Aramburu
12 Peter Murchie
11 Hefin O’Hare

10 Ruaridh Jackson
9 Colin Gregor

1 Ryan Grant
2 Dougie Hall
3 Moray Low
4 Richie Gray
5 Alastair Kellock CAPTAIN
6 Robert Harley
7 Richie Vernon
8 Ryan Wilson

16 Pat MacArthur
17 Kevin Tkachuk
18 Jon Welsh
19 Alastair Muldowney
20 Chris Fusaro
21 Henry Pyrgos
22 Peter Horne
23 David McCall